Press Here
SUNDAYS @ 9 AM
NBC BAY AREA

Scam Uses Fake Facebook Photo Updates

Facebook scammers are using photo updates emailed directly to users.

View Comments (
)
|
Email
|
Print
Warning: Scam via FB Photo Updates

Getty Images/Science Photo Libra

A malware scam is flowing through Facebook.

Photos and Videos
More Photos and Videos

A spreading scam is exposing Facebook users to malware. An email arrives with "One of your Friends added a new photo of you..." and it needs to be ignored.

The jist of the note is that one of your friends added a photo and that you're listed as a close friend. Included is a slick, Facebook-like blue greeting. The click button reads, "View photo with you in the attachment." Yeah, don't be clicking on that. 

The Next Web and Sophos report that malware is Troj/Agent-XNN.

Check Facebook Security for any additional measures you can take to protect yourself. Bottom line: don't open attachments unless you know the sender.

Related Topics Malware, facebook, virus, scam
Leave Comments