Worth the Drive | A Guide to Nearby Getaways | NBC Bay Area
Worth the Drive
Our daily look at nearby getaways
Friday, Dec 9, 2011 at 9:15 AM
|
By Alysia Gray Painter

Santa on Safari

Santa on Safari

If your season has been notably lacking in giraffe, fear not. That can be remedied. Read »

Wednesday, Dec 7, 2011 at 5:50 PM
|
By Alysia Gray Painter

Humboldt Holiday

Humboldt Holiday

Find seasonal stay-over deals around Humboldt County. Read »

Saturday, Dec 3, 2011 at 9:25 AM
|
By Alysia Gray Painter

Rock Face Rink

Rock Face Rink

Twirl at one of the world's most spectacular rinks. Read »

Monday, Dec 5, 2011 at 6:20 PM
|
By Alysia Gray Painter

That Solvang Sparkle

That Solvang Sparkle

One of the Golden State's sparkliest villages turns up the wattage. Read »

Wednesday, Nov 16, 2011 at 6:01 PM
|
By Alysia Gray Painter

Golden Leaves, Half Dome

Golden Leaves, Half Dome

It's getting more spectacular in one of the most spectacular places on earth. Read »

Thursday, Nov 10, 2011 at 1:17 PM
|
By Alysia Gray Painter

Mammoth Mountain Opens

Mammoth Mountain Opens

Big snows fell a few weeks back. Now the slopes beckon skiers. Read »

Wednesday, Jul 6, 2011 at 12:38 PM
|
By Alysia Gray Painter

Happy 100th, Devils Postpile

Happy 100th, Devils Postpile

The Mammoth-close wonder opens for its 100th season on Wednesday, June 29. Read »

Tuesday, Jun 21, 2011 at 9:09 AM
|
By Alysia Gray Painter

Summertime at Crystal Cave

Summertime at Crystal Cave

The Sequoia National Park wonder is only open a few months of the year. Read »

Friday, Jun 3, 2011 at 12:46 PM
|
By Alysia Gray Painter

Happy 10th, Skytrail

Happy 10th, Skytrail

The lofty ride at the Trees of Mystery turns 10. And longer summer hours begin, too. Read »

Monday, May 9, 2011 at 6:42 AM
|
By Alysia Gray Painter

Waterfalls and Rainbows

Waterfalls and Rainbows

Word from Yosemite is that both wonders are in full fantastic force. Read »

About
A good time is just a short drive away, and Worth the Drive points you in the right direction. It's a daily look at nearby getaways, festivals and sweet deals.