<![CDATA[NBC Bay Area - ]]> Copyright 2014 http://www.nbcbayarea.com/feature/fall-preview http://media.nbcbayarea.com/designimages/nbc_bayarea_blue.png NBC Bay Area http://www.nbcbayarea.com en-us Sat, 30 Aug 2014 13:51:54 -0700 Sat, 30 Aug 2014 13:51:54 -0700 NBC Owned Television Stations <![CDATA[On the Stoop with Cast of "Welcome to the Family" ]]> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 09:52:13 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/TS_HD_WTTF_TINY_H264_722x406_48932931764.jpg Talk Stoop's Cat Greenleaf chats with the cast of "Welcome to the Family" about what happens when two families become in-laws, for better or worse. Catch the new NBC comedy Thursdays at 8:30/7:30c. ]]> <![CDATA[James Spader on Acting Advice and New Show]]> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 09:52:12 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/nbc-the-blacklist-james-spader.jpg Talk Stoop's Cat Greenleaf chats with James Spader about his new role as a criminal mastermind. Watch the premiere Sept. 23 at 10/9c. ]]> <![CDATA[Sean Hayes and Linda Lavin Talk New Family Show]]> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 09:52:35 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/sean3.jpg "Sean Saves the World" stars Sean Hayes and Linda Lavin show Talk' Stoop's Cat Greenleaf what a family show looks like in song. Watch the new NBC comedy starting Oct. 3 at 9/8c.]]> <![CDATA[How To Play "The Million Second Quiz"]]> Tue, 10 Sep 2013 08:23:05 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/msq+thumb.jpg Take your shot at the biggest prize in game show history! Ben Aaron shows you how to play using the mobile app. ]]> <![CDATA[Behind the Scenes of "The Million Second Quiz"]]> Thu, 24 Apr 2014 06:46:31 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/20130907+Million+Second+Quiz.jpg "The Million Second Quiz" is a new live competition where contestants test the limits of their knowledge. Ida Siegal reports.]]> <![CDATA[Blair Underwood Talks Iconic TV ]]> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 09:52:41 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/blair1.jpg Blair Underwood talks with Talk Stoop's Cat Greenleaf about taking on the iconic role of ,"Old" Ironside, a wheelchair bound cop. ]]> <![CDATA[Ryan Seacrest Talks Hosting "Million Second Quiz"]]> Thu, 05 Sep 2013 15:25:33 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/WNBC_000000002491418_722x406_46894659930.jpg Ryan Seacrest compares hair with Ben Aaron and discusses getting ready to introduce a cool new game show on NBC.]]> <![CDATA[Michael J. Fox Talks New Role as News Anchor]]> Wed, 18 Sep 2013 19:43:34 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/mj14.jpg Talk Stoop's Cat Greenleaf chats with Michael J. Fox about his new role as a beloved New York news anchor. Watch the premiere of "The Michael J. Fox Show," Sept. 26 at 9/8c.]]> <![CDATA[Quiz Shows Through the Years]]> Mon, 09 Sep 2013 06:23:01 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/edt-million-groucho.jpg Quiz game shows have been around since the days before TV sets were common in homes. From "Jeopardy" to "Cash Cab" to NBC's newest quiz game show, "Million Second Quiz" (premieres Sept. 9), take a look back at some of the most memorable quiz shows. ]]> <![CDATA["The Blacklist" Cast on New Show]]> Fri, 20 Sep 2013 10:01:45 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/BLACKLIST-SHOW-FALL-NBC.jpg Ryan Eggold and Diego Klattenhoff discuss their new show, "The Blacklist."

Photo Credit: Evan Agostini/Invision/AP]]>
<![CDATA["The Michael J. Fox Show": Family Dinner]]> Wed, 21 Aug 2013 10:16:41 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/mj12.jpg Look who's making the news again. One of New York's most beloved news anchors, Mike Henry (Michael J. Fox), put his career on hold to spend more time with his family and focus on his health after he was diagnosed with Parkinson's. But now five years later, with the kids busy growing up and Mike growing restless, it just might be time for him to get back to work. Watch the premiere Sept. 26 at 9/8c.]]> <![CDATA["Ironside": Interrogation Room]]> Tue, 13 Aug 2013 12:02:03 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/ironsideinterrogation_722x406_42076227608.jpg Starring Blair Underwood. As a detective, his instincts are second to none. His Team. His Town. His Rules. Coming Wednesdays this fall to NBC. Watch the premiere Oct.2 at 10/9c.]]> <![CDATA["Ironside": The Crime Scene]]> Tue, 13 Aug 2013 09:06:08 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/ironside1.jpg Starring Blair Underwood. His Team. His Town. His Rules. coming Wednesdays this fall to NBC. Watch the premiere Oct.2 at 10/9c.]]> <![CDATA["Sean Saves the World": Ellie Asks a Sensitive Question]]> Tue, 13 Aug 2013 09:48:05 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/SEAN-SAVES-THE-WORLD-daughter.jpg "Sean Saves the World" stars Sean Hayes as a divorced dad whose life changes when his 14-year-old daughter, Ellie, moves in with him full-time. Watch the premiere Oct. 3 at 9/8c on NBC.

Photo Credit: NBC/NBCU Photo Bank]]>
<![CDATA["The Blacklist": Keen Meets Reddington]]> Wed, 21 Aug 2013 10:17:00 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/edt-The-Blacklist-2.jpg After surrendering, mysterious criminal Red Reddington (James Spader) says he will only speak with Elizabeth Keen (Megan Bonne), an FBI profiler fresh out of Quantico. Watch the premiere Sept. 23 at 10/9c.]]> <![CDATA["The Blacklist": Reddington Surrenders]]> Wed, 21 Aug 2013 10:19:08 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/Spader+.jpg NBC's new drama, "The Blacklist," stars James Spader as a criminal mastermind. Watch the premiere Sept. 23 at 10/9c.]]> <![CDATA["Sean Saves the World": Mom Visit!]]> Wed, 02 Oct 2013 20:00:27 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/Sean11-mom-visit.jpg "Sean Saves the World" stars Sean Hayes as a divorced dad whose life changes when his 14-year-old daughter, Ellie, moves in with him full-time. Watch the premiere Oct. 3 at 9/8c on NBC.

Photo Credit: Vivian Zink/NBC]]>
<![CDATA[Michael J. Fox Returns to TV]]> Fri, 20 Sep 2013 10:45:07 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/NC_foxreturns0918_test_mezzn.jpg Despite a long struggle with Parkinson's, Michael J. Fox is acting full-time again. In the "Michael J. Fox Show," the actor plays a news anchor who is also struggling with the illness.]]> <![CDATA[Seacrest to Host "Million Second Quiz"]]> Tue, 03 Sep 2013 08:22:46 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/ryan-seacrest-2.jpg

Ryan Seacrest will host "The Million Second Quiz," a new live game show NBC hopes will become event programming for two weeks in September.

The network said Monday it is constructing a giant hourglass-shaped structure in Manhattan for the game, which will involve contestants testing their trivia skills over a million seconds, or 11 days, 13 hours, 46 minutes and 40 seconds. A contestant leading the game earns $10 per second for sitting in the "money chair," with a potential payoff of millions of dollars.

The show will air for six straight nights starting Sept. 9, then return for four nights starting Sept. 16.

Seacrest is host of "American Idol" on Fox and "New Year's Rockin' Eve" on ABC.



Photo Credit: Getty Images]]>
<![CDATA[65th Emmy Awards Nominations: Full List]]> Tue, 13 Aug 2013 13:16:39 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/emmy+photo.jpg

Here is a list of nominees for the 65th Primetime Emmy Awards:

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama
Vera Farmiga, "Bates Motel"
Michelle Dockery, "Downton Abbey"
Claire Danes, "Homeland"
Robin Wright, "House of Cards"
Elisabeth Moss, "Mad Men"
Connie Britton, "Nashville"
Kerry Washington, "Scandal"

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama
Bryan Cranston, "Breaking Bad"
Hugh Bonneville, "Downton Abbey"
Damian Lewis, "Homeland"
Kevin Spacey, "House of Cards"
Jon Hamm, "Mad Men"
Jeff Daniels, "The Newsroom"

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Miniseries or Movie
Michael Douglas, "Behind the Candelabra"
Matt Damon, "Behind the Candelabra"
Toby Jones, "The Girl"
Benedict Cumberbatch, "Parade's End"
Al Pacino, "Phil Spector"
 

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries or Movie
Jessica Lange, "American Horror Story: Asylum"
Laura Linney, "The Big C: Hereafter"
Helen Mirren, "Phil Spector"
Sigourney Weaver, "Political Animals"
Elisabeth Moss, "Top of the Lake"
 

Outstanding Host For A Reality Or Reality-Competition Program 
Ryan Seacrest, "American Idol"
Betty White, "Betty White's Off Their Rockers"
Tom Bergeron, "Dancing with the Stars"
Heidi Klum, Tim Gunn; "Project Runway" 
Cat Deeley, "So You Think You Can Dance" 
Anthony Bourdain, "The Taste"

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy Series
Jason Bateman, "Arrested Development"
Jim Parsons, "The Big Bang Theory"
Matt LeBlanc, "Episodes"
Don Cheadle, "House Of Lies"
Louis C.K., "Louis"
Alec Baldwin, "30 Rock"

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series

Laura Dern, "Enlightened"
Lena Dunham, "Girls"
Edie Falco, "Nurse Jackie"
Amy Poehler, "Parks and Recreation"
Tina Fey, "30 Rock"
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, "Veep"

Outstanding Reality-Competition Program
"The Amazing Race," CBS
"Dancing With The Stars," ABC
"Project Runway," Lifetime
"So You Think You Can Dance," Fox
"Top Chef," Bravo
"The Voice," NBC

Outstanding Variety Series
"The Colbert Report," Comedy Central
"The Daily Show With Jon Stewart," Comedy Central
"Jimmy Kimmel Live," ABC
"Late Night With Jimmy Fallon," NBC
"Real Time With Bill Maher," HBO
"Saturday Night Live," NBC

Outstanding Miniseries Or Movie
"American Horror Story: Asylum," FX
"Behind The Candelabra," HBO
"The Bible," HISTORY
"Phil Spector," HBO
"Political Animals," USA
"Top Of The Lake," Sundance Channel
 

Outstanding Comedy Series
"The Big Bang Theory," CBS
"Girls," HBO
"Louie," FX
"Modern Family," ABC
"30 Rock," NBC
"Veep," HBO

Outstanding Drama Series
"Breaking Bad," AMC
"Downton Abbey," PBS
"Game Of Thrones," HBO
"Homeland," Showtime
"House Of Cards," Netflix
"Mad Men," AMC

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Drama Series
Bobby Cannavale, "Boardwalk Empire"
Jonathan Banks, "Breaking Bad"
Aaron Paul, "Breaking Bad"
Jim Carter, "Downton Abbey"
Peter Dinklage, "Game of Thrones"
Mandy Patinkin, "Homeland"

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Drama Series
Anna Gunn, "Breaking Bad"
Maggie Smith, "Downton Abbey"
Emilia Clarke, "Game of Thrones"
Christine Baranski, "The Good Wife"
Morena Baccarin, "Homeland"
Christina Hendricks, "Mad Men"

Outstanding Guest Actor In A Drama Series

Nathan Lane, "The Good Wife"

Michael J. Fox, "The Good Wife"

Rupert Friend, "Homeland"
Robert Morse, "Mad Men"

Harry Hamlin, "Mad Men"

Dan Bucatinsky, "Scandal"

Outstanding Guest Actress In A Drama Series

Margo Martindale, "The Americans"

Diana Rigg, "Game of Thrones"

Carrie Preston, "The Good Wife"

Linda Cardellini, "Mad Men"
Jane Fonda, "The Newsroom"

Joan Cusack, "Shameless"

Outstanding Writing For A Drama Series

"Breaking Bad" - "Dead Freight"
"Breaking Bad" - "Say My Name"
"Downton Abbey" - "Episode 4"
"Game of Thrones" - "The Rains of Castamere"

"Homeland" - "Q&A"

Outstanding Directing For A Drama Series
"Boardwalk Empire" - Margate Sands"
"Breaking Bad" - "Gliding Over All"

"Downton Abbey" - "Episode 4"

"Homeland" - "Q&A"

"House Of Cards - "Chapter 1"

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Comedy Series

Adam Driver, "Girls"

Jesse Tyler, "Modern Family"

Ed O'Neill, "Modern Family"
Ty Burrell, "Modern Family"
Bill Hader, "Saturday Night Live"
Tony Hale, "Veep"

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series
Mayim Bialik, "The Big Bang Theory"
Jane Lynch, "Glee"
Sofia Vergara, "Modern Family"

Julie Bowen, "Modern Family"

Merritt Wever, "Nurse Jackie"

Jane Krakowski, "30 Rock"

Anna Chlumsky, "Veep"

Outstanding Guest Actor In A Comedy Series

Bob Newhart, "The Big Bang Theory"

Nathan Lane, "Modern Family"

Bobby Cannavale, "Nurse Jackie"

Louis C.K., "Saturday Night Live"
Justin Timberlake, "Saturday Night Live"

Will Forte, "30 Rock"
 

Outstanding Guest Actress In A Comedy Series

Molly Shannon, "Enlightened"
Dot-Marie Jones, "Glee"

Melissa Leo, "Louie"
Melissa McCarthy, "Saturday Night Live"

Kristen Wiig, "Saturday Night Live"

Elaine Stritch, "30 Rock"


Outstanding Writing For A Comedy Series

"Episodes" - "Episode 209"

"Louie" - "Daddy's Girlfriend (Part 1)"
"The Office" - "Finale"

"30 Rock" - "Hogcock!"

"30 Rock" - "Last Lunch"

Outstanding Directing For A Comedy Series
"Girls" - "On All Fours"

"Glee" - "Diva"

"Louis" - New Year's Eve"

"Modern Family" - "Arrested"

"30 Rock" - "Hogcock!"

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Miniseries Or A Movie
James Cromwell, "American Horror Story: Asylum"

Zachary Quinto, "American Horror Story: Asylum"

Scott Bakula, "Behind The Candelabra"

John Benjamin, "The Big C: Hereafter"
Peter Mullan, "Top Of The Lake"



Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Miniseries or A Movie
Sarah Paulson, "American Horror Story: Asylum"

Imelda Staunton, "The GIrl"
Ellen Burstyn, "Political Animals"

Charlotte Rampling, "Restless"
Alfre Woodard, "Steel Magnolias"

Outstanding Writing For A Miniseries, Movie Or A Dramatic Special
"Behind The Candelabra," HBO
"The Hour," BBC America

"Parade's End," HBO
"Phil Spector," HBO

"Top Of The Lake," Sundance Channel

Oustanding Directing For A Miniseries, Movie Or A Dramatic Special
"Behind The Cadelabra," HBO

"The Girl," HBO

"Phil Spector," HBO

"Ring of Fire," Lifetime

"Top Of The Lake" - "Part 5," Sundance Channel

Oustanding Variety Special
"The Kennedy Center Honors," CBS

"Louis C.K.: Oh My God," HBO

"Mel Brooks Strikes Back! With Mel Brooks And Alan Yentob," HBO

"Saturday Night Live: Weekend Update Thursday (Part One)," NBC
"12-12-12: The Concert For Sandy Relief" - Robin Hood Foundation in association with The Weinstein Company, Clear Channel Communications

Oustanding Writing For A Variety Series

"The Colbert Report," Comedy Central

"The Daily Show With Jon Stewart," Comedy Central

"Jimmy Kimmel Live," ABC
"Portlandia," IFC
"Real Time With Bill Maher," HBO
"Saturday Night Live," NBC

Oustanding Directing For A Variety Series
"The Colbert Report" - "Episode 8131," Comedy Central
"The Daily Show With Jon Stewart" - "Episode 17153," Comedy Central
"Jimmy Kimmel Live" - "Episode 13-1810," ABC
"Late Show With David Letterman" - "Episode 3749," CBS

"Portlandia" - "Alexandra," IFC
"Saturday Night Live" - "Host: Justin Timberlake," NBC


Outstanding Directing For A Variety Special

"The Kennedy Center Honors," CBS
"London 2012 Olympic Games Opening Ceremony," NBC
"Louis C.K.: Oh My God," HBO
"The Oscars," ABC
"12-12-12: The Concert For Sandy Relief," "The Robin Hood Foundation in association with The Weinstein Company," Clear Channel Communications

Outstanding Special Class Program
"The 70th Annual Golden Globe Awards," NBC
"London 2012 Olympics Games Opening Ceremony," NBC
"The Oscars," ABC
"Rodgers & Hammerstein's Carousel (Live From Lincoln Center)," PBS
"66th Annual Tony Awards," CBS

Outstanding Special Class - Short-Format Live-Action Entertainment Programs
"Between Two Ferns," FunnyOrDie.com
"Burning Love," Yahoo.com
"Children's Hospital, Cartoon Network
"The Daily Show Correspondents Explain," TheDailyShow.com
"Super Bowl XLVII Halftime Show Starring Beyonce," CBS
"30 Rock: The Webisodes," NBC.com

Oustanding Special Class - Short-Format Notification Programs
"Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee," Crackle.com
"Jay Leno's Garage," JayLenosGarage.com
"The Office: The Farewells," NBC.com
"Remembering 9/11," History.com
"30 Rock: The Final Season," NBC.com
"Top Chef: Last Chance Kitchen," BravoTV.com

Outstanding Interactive Program
"Bravos's Top Chef Interactive Experience," BravoTV.com
"Game Of Thrones Season Three Enhanced Digital Experience," HBO.com
"The Homeland SHO Sync Experience," SHO.com
"Killing Lincoln," NatGeoTV.com
"Night Of Too Many Stars: America Comes Together For Autism Programs," ComedyCentral.com
"The Team Coco Sync Multi-Screen Experience," TeamCoco.com
"The Walking Dead Story Sync," AMCTV.com

Outstanding Children's Program
"Good Luck Charlie," Disney Channel
"ICarly," Nickelodeon
"Nick News With Linda Ellerbee - Forgotten But Not Gone: Kids, HIV & AIDS," Nickelodeon
"The Weight Of The Nation For Kids: Quiz Ed!" HBO
"A YoungArts Masterclass," HBO

Outstanding Reality Program
"Antiques Roadshow," PBS
"Deadliest Catch," Discovery Channel
"Diners, Drive-ins And Dives," Food Network
"MythBusters," Discovery Channel
"Shark Tank," ABC
"Undercover Boss," CBS

Outstanding Documentary Or Nonfiction Special
"All The President's Men Revisted," Discovery Channel
"Crossfire Hurricane," HBO
"Death And The Civil War (American Experience)," PBS
"Ethel," HBO
"Manhunt: The Inside Story Of The Hunt For Bin Laden," HBO

Outstanding Documentary Or Nonfiction Series
"The Abolitionsts (American Experience)," PBS
"American Masters," PBS
"The Men Who Built America," HISTORY
"Through The Wormhold With Morgan Freeman," Science Channel
"Vice", HBO

Outstanding Informational Series Or Special
"Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown," CNN
"Brain Games," NGC
"Inside The Actors Studio," Bravo
"Oprah's Master Class," OWN
"Stand Up To Cancer," Tenth Planet

Outstanding Writing For Nonfiction Programming
"Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown" - "Libya," CNN
"The Dust Bowl" - "THe Great Plow Up," PBS
"Ethel," HBO
"Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence In The House Of God," HBO
"The Men Who Built America" - "A New War Begins," HISTORY

Outstanding Directing For Nonfiction Programming
"American Masters" - "Mel Brooks: Make a Noise," PBS
"Ethel," HBO
"Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence In The House of God," HBO
"Survivor" - "Live Finale And Reunion (Caramoan: Fans Vs. Favorites)," CBS
"Survivor" - "Live Finale And Reunion (Phillippines)," CBS

Outstanding Animated Program
"Bob's Burgers" - "O.T.: The Outside Toilet," FOX
"Kung Fu Panda: Legends Of Awesomeness: Enter The Dragon," Nickelodeon
"Regular Show: The Christmas Special," Cartoon Network
"The Simposons" - "Treehouse Of Horror XXIII," FOX
"South Park" - "Raising The Bar," Comedy Central

Outstanding Short-Format Animated Program
"Adventure Time" - "Simon & Marcy," Cartoon Network
"Clarence" - "CartoonNetwork.com," Cartoon Network Studios
"Disney Mickey Mouse Croissant de Triomphe," Disney.com
"Regular Show" - "A Bunch Of Full Grown Geese," Cartoon Network
"Robot Chicken" - "Robot Chicken's ATM Christmas Special," Cartoon Network

Outstanding Voice-Over Performance
"An Apology To Elephants," HBO
"Family Guy" - "Brian's Play," FOX
"Family Guy" - "Lois Comes Out Of Her Shell," FOX
"The Looney Tunes Show" - "We're In Big Truffle," Cartoon Network
"Robot Chicken" - "Hurtled From A Helicopter Into A Speeding Train," Cartoon Network
"Robot Chicken DC Comics Special" Cartoon Network

Outstanding Art Direction For A Multi-Camera Series
"The Big Bang Theory" - "The Date Night Variable," "The Bakersfield Expedition," The Love Spell Potential," CBS
"How I Met Your Mother" - "Farhamton," "P.S. I Love You," "The Final Page (Part Two)," CBS
"MasterChef" - "3-20," FOX
"Two And A Half Men" - "Avoid The Chinese Mustard," "Grab A Feather & Get in Line," "My Bodacious Vidalla," CBS
"2 Broke Girls" - "And The Bear Truth," "And Not So Sweet Charity," "And The Silent Partner," CBS

Outstanding Art Direction For A Single-Camera Series
"Boardwalk Empire" - "Sunday Best," "Two Imposters," Margate Sands," HBO
"The Borgias" - "Siblings," Showtime
"Downton Abbey" - "Episode 7," PBS
"Game of Thrones" - "Valar Dohaeris," "Kissed By Fire," HBO
"True Blood" - "Whatever I Am, You Made Me," "Let's Boot And Rally," "Sunset," HBO

Outstanding Art Direction For A Miniseries Or Movie
"American Horror Story: Asylum" - "I Am Anne Frank (Part 2)," FX Networks
"American Horror Story: Asylum" - "Welcome To Briarcliff," FX Networks
"Behind The Candelabra," HBO
"Phil Spector," HBO
"SEAL Team Six: The Raid On Osama Bin Lade," NGC

Outstanding Art Direction For Variety Or Nonfiction Programming
"Dancing With The Stars" - "Episode 1608A," "Episode 1610A," ABC
"London 2012 Olympics Games Opening Ceremony," NBC
"The Oscars," ABC
"Saturday Night Live" - "Host: Justin Timberlake," "Host: Martin Short," 'Host: Ben Affleck," NBC
"The Voice" - "Battle Rounds (Part 1)," "The Live Shows, Semi-Finals," The Blind Auditions (Part 1)," NBC

Outstanding Casting For A Comedy Series
"Girls," HBO
"Modern Family," ABC
"Nurse Jackie," Showtime
"30 Rock," NBC
"Veep," HBO

Outstanding Casting For A Drama Series
"Downton Abbey," PBS
"Game of Thrones," HBO
"The Good Wife," CBS
"Homeland," Showtime
"House Of Cards," Netflix

Outstanding Casting For A Miniseries, Movie Or A Special
"American Horror Story: Asylum," FX Networks
"Behind The Candelabra," HBO
"The Hour," BBC America
"Political Animals," USA
"Top Of The Lake," Sundance Channel

Outstanding Choreography
"Dancing With The Stars" - "Routines: Heart Cry / Stars," ABC
"Dancing With The Stars" - "Routines: Hey Pachuco / Para Los Rumberos / Walking On Air," ABC
"Rodgers & Hammerstein's Carousel (Live From Lincoln Center)," PBS
"So You Think You Can Dance" - "Routines: Possibly Maybe / Turning Page / Sail," FOX
"So You Think You Can Dance" - "Routines: The Power Of Love / Wild Horses," FOX
"So You Think You Can Dance" - "Routines: Call Of The Wild (Circle Of Life) / Love Cats / Beautiful People," FOX
"So You Think You Can Dance" - "Routines: Where The Light Gets In / Without You / Unchained Melody," FOX

Outstanding Cinematography For A Multi-Camera Series
"The Exes" - "Pirates Of The Care Of Eden," TV Land
"How I Met Your Mother" - "The Final Page (Part 2)," CBS
"Mike & Molly" - "Molly's Birthday," CBS
"Two And A Half Men" - "Grab A Feather And Get In Line," CBS
"2 Broke Girls" - "And The Psychic Shakedown," CBS

Outstanding Cinematography For A Single-Camera Series
"Boardwalk Empire" - "Margate Sands," HBO
"Breaking Bad" - "Gliding Over All," AMC
"Game Of Thrones" - "Mhysa," HBO
"Homeland" - "Beirut Is Back," Showtime
"House Of Cards" - "Chapter 1," Netflix
"Mad Men" - "The Doorway," AMC

Outstanding Cinematography For A Miniseries Or Movie
"American Horror Story: Asylum" - "I Am Anne Frank (Part 2)," FX Networks
"Behind The Candelabra," HBO
"The Girl," HBO
"Parade's End" - "Part 5," HBO
"Top Of The Lake" - "Part 1," Sundance Channel

Outstanding Cinematography For Nonfiction Programming
"Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown" - "Myanmar," CNN
"Ethel," HBO
"Manhunt: The Inside Story Of The Hunt For Bin Laden," HBO
"Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence In The House Of God," HBO
"The Men Who Built America" - "A New War Begins," HISTORY

Outstanding Cinematography For Reality Programming
"The Amazing Race" - "Be Safe And Don't Hit A Cow," CBS
"Deadliest Catch" - "Mutiny On The Bering Sea," Discovery Channel
"Project Runway" - "A Times Square Anniversary Party," Lifetime
"Survivor" - "Create A Little Chaos," CBS
"Top Chef" - "Glacial Gourmand," Bravo

Outstanding Commercial
"The Chase," Grey Poupon
"Inspired," Canon
"Jess Time," Google Chrome
"Jogger," Nike

Outstanding Costumes For A Series
"Boardwalk Empire" - "Resolution," HBO
"The Borgias" - "The Gunpowder Plot," Showtime
"Downton Abbey" - "Episode 4," PBS
"Game Of Thrones" - "Walk Of Punishment," HBO
"Once Upon A Time" - "Queen Of Hearts," ABC

Outstanding Costumes For A Miniseries, Movie Or A Special
"American Horror Story: Asylum" - "Madness Ends," FX Networks
"Behind The Candelabra," HBO
"The Girl," HBO
"Killing Lincoln," NGC
"Parade's End" - "Part 3," HBO
"Phil Spector," HBO

Outstanding Single-Camera Picture Editing For A Drama Series
"Breaking Bad" - "Dead Freight," AMC
"Breaking Bad" - "Gliding Over All," AMC
"Game Of Thrones" - "The Rains Of Castamer," HBO
"House Of Cards" - "Chapter 1," Netflix
"Mad Men" - "The Collaborators," AMC

Outstanding Single-Camera Picture Editing For A Comedy Series
"Arrested Development" - "Flight Of The Phoenix," Netflix
"Louie" - "Daddy's Girlfriend (Part 2)," FX Networks
"Modern Family" - "Party Crasher," ABC
"The Office" - "Finale," NBC
"30 Rock" - "Hogcock! / Last Lunch," NBC

Outstanding Multi-Camera Picture Editing For A Comedy Series
"The Big Bang Theory" - "The Love Spell Potential," CBS
"The Colbert Report" - "Episode 9082," Comedy Central
"Conan" - "Occupy Conan," CBS
"Hot In Cleveland" - "Magic Diet Candy," TV Land
"How I Met Your Mother" - "P.S. I Love You," CBS

Outstanding Single-Camera Picture Editing For A Miniseries Or A Movie
"American Horror Story: Asylum" - "Nor'easter," FX Networks
"Behind The Candelabra," HBO
"Killing Lincoln," NGC
"Phil Spector," HBO
"Top Of The Lake" - "Part 5," Sundance Channel

Outstanding Picture Editing For Short-Form Segments And Variety Specials
"The Colbert Report" - "CGI University (Episode 9083)," Comedy Central
"London 2012 Olympic Games Opening Ceremony" - "Happy & Glorious," NBC
"Louis C.K.: Oh My God," HBO
"Saturday Night Live" - "Lincoln (Host: Louis C.K.)," NBC

Outstanding Picture Editing For Nonfiction Programming
"American Masters" - "Mel Brooks: Make A Noise," PBS
"Crossfire Hurricane," HBO
"Ethel," HBO
"Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence In The House Of God," HBO
"Richard Pryor: Omit The Logic," Showtime

Outstanding Picture Editing For Reality Programming
"The Amazing Race" - "Be Safe And Don't Hit A Cow," CBS
"Deadliest Catch" - "Mutiny On The Bering Sea," Discovery Channel
"Project Runway" - "A Times Square Anniversary Party," Lifetime
"Project Runway" - "Europe, Here We Come," Lifetime
"Survivor" - "Zipping Over The Cuckoo's Nest," CBS

Outstanding Hairstyling For A Single-Camera Series
"Boardwalk Empire" - "Resolution," HBO
"The Borgias" - "The Wolf And The Lamb," Showtime
"Downton Abbey" - "Episode 4," PBS
"Game Of Thrones" - "Second Sons," HBO
"Mad Men" - "The Doorway," AMC

Outstanding Hairstyling For A Multi-Camera Series Or Special
"The Big Bang Theory" - "The Bakersfield Expedition," CBS
"Dancing With The Stars" - "Episode 1608," ABC
"The Oscars," ABC
"Saturday Night Live" - "Host: Jennifer Lawrence," NBC
"The Voice" - "The Live Shows (Part 1) (Season 3)," NBC

Outstanding Hairstyling For A Miniseries Or A Movie
"American Horror Story: Asylum," FX Networks
"Behind The Candelabra," HBO
"Liz & Dick," Lifetime
"Phil Spector," HBO
"Political Animals," USA
"Ring Of Fire," Lifetime

Outstanding Lighting Design/Lighting Direction For A Variety Series
"American Idol" - "Finale," FOX
"Dancing With The Stars" - "Episode 1605," ABC
"Saturday Night Live" - "Host: Martin Short" - NBC
"So You Think You Can Dance" - "Season 9 Finale" - FOX
"The Voice" - "Live Final Performances (Season 3)," NBC

Outstanding Lighting Design/Lighting Direction For A Variety Special
"Andrea Bocelli: Love In Portofino (Great Performances),"PBS
"The 55th Annual Grammy Awards," CBS
"London 2012 Olympic Games Opening Ceremony," NBC
"The Oscars," ABC
"2013 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony," HBO
"Super Bowl XLVII Halftime Show Starring Beyoncé," CBS

Outstanding Main Title Design
"American Horror Story: Asylum," FX Networks
"Da Vinci's Demons," Starz
"Elementary," CBS
"Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn," Machinima.com
"The Newsroom," HBO
"Vikings," HISTORY

Outstanding Makeup For A Single-Camera Series (Non-Prosthetic)
"Boardwalk Empire" - "Resolution," HBO
"The Borgias" - "The Gunpowder Plot," Showtime
"Game Of Thrones" - "Kissed By Fire," HBO
"Glee" - "Guilty Pleasures," FOX
"Mad Men" - "The Doorway," AMC
"Once Upon A Time" - "The Evil Queen," ABC

Outstanding Makeup For A Multi-Camera Series Or Special (Non-Prosthetic)
"Dancing With The Stars" - "Episode 1603," ABC
"How I Met Your Mother" - "P.S. I Love You," CBS
"Key & Peele" - "Episode 209," Comedy Central
"The Oscars," ABC
"Saturday Night Live" - "Host: Justin Timberlake," NBC

Outstanding Makeup For A Miniseries Or A Movie (Non-Prosthetic)
"American Horror Story: Asylum," FX Networks
"Behind The Candelabra," HBO
"Liz & Dick," Lifetime
"Phil Spector," HBO
"Ring Of Fire," Lifetime

Outstanding Prosthetic Makeup For A Series, Miniseries, Movie Or A Special
"American Horror Story: Asylum," FX Networks
"Behind The Candelabra," HBO
"Game Of Thrones" - "Valar Dohaeris," HBO
"Saturday Night Live" - "Host: Jennifer Lawrence," NBC
"The Walking Dead" - "This Sorrowful Life," AMC

Outstanding Music Composition For A Series (Original Dramatic Score)
"Arrested Development" - "Flight Of The Phoenix," Netflix
"The Borgias" - "The Prince," Showtime
"Downton Abbey" - "Episode 6," PBS
"House Of Cards" - "Chapter 1," Netflix
"Last Resort" - "Captain," ABC
"Mr Selfridge (Masterpiece)" - "Episode 1," PBS

Outstanding Music Composition For A Miniseries, Movie Or A Special (Original Dramatic Score)
"The Girl," HBO
"Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence In The House Of God," HBO
"Parade's End" - "Part 5," HBO
"Restless" - "Part 2," Sundance Channel
"Ring Of Fire," Lifetime
"World Without End" - "Medieval Life And Death," ReelzChannel

Outstanding Music Direction
"Christmas In Washington," TNT
"The Kennedy Center Honors," CBS
"The Oscars," ABC
"Rodgers & Hammerstein's Carousel (Live From Lincoln Center) • PBS
"66th Annual Tony Awards • CBS

Outstanding Original Music And Lyrics
"Nashville" - "I'll Never Get Out Of This World Alive / "Song Title: Nothing In This World Will Ever Break My Heart Again," ABC
"The Neighbors" - "Sing Like A Larry Bird / Song Title: More Or Less The Kind Of Thing You May Or May Not Possibly See On Broadway," ABC
"Smash" - The Parents / Song Title: Hang The Moon," NBC
"Smash" - The Bells And Whistles / Song Title: I Hear Your Voice In A Dream," NBC
"30 Rock" - Hogock! / Last Lunch / Song Title: Rural Juror," NBC
"66th Annual Tony Awards" - "Song Title: If I Had Time," CBS

Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music
"The Americans," FX Networks
"Copper," BBC America
"Da Vinci's Demons," Starz
"Elementary," CBS
"Hemlock Grove," Netflix
"House Of Cards," Netflix

Outstanding Sound Editing For A Series
"Boardwalk Empire" - "The Milkmaid's Lot," HBO
"Breaking Bad" - "Dead Freight," AMC
"Game Of Thrones" - "And Now His Watch Is Ended," HBO
"Nikita" - "Aftermath," CW
"Vikings" - "Trial," HISTORY

Outstanding Sound Editing For A Miniseries, Movie Or A Special
"American Horror Story: Asylum" - "Welcome To Briarcliff," FX Networks
"Battlestar Galactica: Blood & Chrome," Syfy
"The Bible" - "Beginnings," HISTORY
"SEAL Team Six: The Raid On Osama Bin Laden," NGC
"World Without End" - "Medieval Life And Death," ReelzChannel

Outstanding Sound Editing For Nonfiction Programming (Single Or Multi-Camera)
"The Amazing Race" - "Be Safe And Don't Hit A Cow," CBS
"Crossfire Hurricane," HBO
"The Dust Bowl" - "The Great Plow Up," PBS
"History Of The Eagles," Showtime
"The Men Who Built America" - "Bloody Battles," HISTORY
"Survivor"- "Create A Little Chaos," CBS

Outstanding Sound Mixing For A Comedy Or Drama Series (One Hour)
"Boardwalk Empire" - "The Milkmaid's Lot," HBO
"Breaking Bad" - "Dead Freight," AMC
"Game Of Thrones" - "And Now His Watch Is Ended," HBO
"Homeland" - "Beirut Is Back," Showtime
"Mad Men" - "The Flood," AMC

Outstanding Sound Mixing For A Miniseries Or A Movie
"American Horror Story: Asylum" - "Welcome To Briarcliff," FX Networks
"Battlestar Galactica: Blood & Chrome," Syfy
"Behind The Candelabra," HBO
"The Bible • Beginnings," HISTORY
"Phil Spector," HBO

Outstanding Sound Mixing For A Comedy Or Drama Series (Half-Hour) And Animation
"Modern Family" - "My Hero," ABC
"Nurse Jackie" - "Teachable Moments," Showtime
"The Office" - "Finale," NBC
"Parks And Recreation" - "Leslie And Ben," NBC
"30 Rock"- "Mazel Tov, Dummies!" NBC

Outstanding Sound Mixing For A Variety Series Or Special
"American Idol" - "Finale," FOX
"The Colbert Report" - "Episode 8137B," Comedy Central
"The Daily Show With Jon Stewart" - "Episode 17153," Comedy Central
"The 55th Annual Grammy Awards," CBS
"The Oscars," ABC

Outstanding Sound Mixing For Nonfiction Programming
"The Amazing Race"- "Be Safe And Don't Hit A Cow," CBS
"Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown" - "Myanmar," CNN
"Crossfire Hurricane," HBO
"Deadliest Catch" - "Mutiny On The Bering Sea," Discovery Channel
"History Of The Eagles," Showtime
"Survivor" - "Create A Little Chaos," CBS

Outstanding Special Visual Effects
"Battlestar Galactica: Blood & Chrome," Syfy
"Defiance" - "Pilot," Syfy
"Falling Skies" - "Worlds Apart," TNT
"Game Of Thrones" - "Valar Dohaeris," HBO
"Hemlock Grove" - "Children Of The Night," Netflix
"Last Resort"- "Captain," ABC

Outstanding Special Visual Effects In A Supporting Role
"Banshee" - "Pilot," Cinemax
"Boardwalk Empire" - "The Pony," HBO
"The Borgias"- "The Prince," Showtime
"Da Vinci's Demons"- "The Lovers," Starz
"Revolution" - "Pilot," NBC
"Vikings" - "Dispossessed," HISTORY

Outstanding Stunt Coordination For A Comedy Series Or A Variety Program
"It's Always Sunny In Philadelphia," FX Networks
"Modern Family," ABC
"Supah Ninjas," Nickelodeon
"Workaholics," Comedy Central

Outstanding Stunt Coordination For A Drama Series, Miniseries Or Movie
"Blue Bloods" - "Secrets & Lies," CBS
"NCIS" - "Revenge," CBS
"Revolution" - "Nobody's Fault But Mine," NBC
"Southland" - "Bleed Out," TNT

Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control For A Series
"The Big Bang Theory" - "The Higgs Boson Observation," CBS
"The Daily Show With Jon Stewart" - "Episode 18020," Comedy Central
"Dancing With The Stars" - "Episode 1610A," ABC
"Jimmy Kimmel Live" - "Episode 12-1776," ABC
"Saturday Night Live" - "Host: Martin Short," NBC
"The Voice" - "Live Final Performances (Season 3)," NBC

Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control For A Miniseries, Movie Or A Special
"The Kennedy Center Honors," CBS
"The Oscars," ABC
"2013 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony," HBO
"Super Bowl XLVII Halftime Show Starring Beyoncé," CBS
"66th Annual Tony Awards," CBS



Photo Credit: WireImage]]>
<![CDATA["Revolution," "Hannibal" Stars Shine at Comic-Con]]> Tue, 13 Aug 2013 09:48:06 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/comic-con-nbc-shows.jpg NBC took over Hard Rock 207 during Comic-Con where stars from "The Blacklist," "Revolution," "Grimm," "Hannibal," and more talked about the fall lineup.]]> <![CDATA[Games Celebrities Play]]> Tue, 13 Aug 2013 09:48:04 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/jane_lynch1.jpg

The old "Celebrity Jeopardy!" bits on "Saturday Night Live" mined plenty of laughs from the inability of Will Ferrell's Alex Trebek to get a serious answer – or question – out of Darrell Hammond's Sean Connery. (Connery: “I’ll take ‘The Rapists’ for 200.” Trebek: “That’s ‘Therapists.’”)

The jaunts into the delightfully absurd poked fun at overblown stars whose game show misadventures suggest they should stick to scripted fare. Still, the annual "Jeopardy!" celebrity tournament marks one of the few opportunities for notable names somewhere below the A-list, but far above the D-list to show another side of themselves. (Who could have predicted Andy Richter would steamroll Wolf Blitzer in 2009?)
That's plenty of reason to look forward to Thursday's premiere of "Hollywood Game Night," hosted by "Glee" star Jane Lynch. The NBC show's concept – celebrities playing goofily fun games to help ordinary contestants win a few bucks – harkens back to days when (fairly) big stars were nighttime game show fixtures.
Burt Reynolds drafted celebrity pals to his “Win, Lose or Draw” in the late 1980s. A decade earlier, his buddy Bert Convy’s “Tattletales” drew star couples like Jerry Stiller and Anne Meara. Allen Ludden’s “Password,” in various incarnations beginning in the 1960s, brought together his wife, Betty White, and many celebrity friends – including a young David Letterman.
Shows like “Hollywood Squares” and “Match Game” made stars again out of Paul Lynde, Charles Nelson Reilly and Richard Dawson. Hosting “You Bet Your Life” on radio and TV put Groucho Marx’s prodigious wit to use in the final phase of his career.
The best of the shows recruited celebrities for their smarts – a stark difference from our current age, in which too many Reality TV pseudo-celebrities are prized for playing (or being) dumb.
Johnny Carson hosted a game show in the 1950s and later became a panelist on “To Tell the Truth,” which proved good training for his “Tonight Show” approach of making viewers feel like guests at a celebrity party.  “Hollywood Game Night,” which involves various pop culture-driven contests, is based on informal bashes former “Will & Grace” star Sean Hayes throws for his famous pals.

Ferrell and Hammond aren’t on the current “Hollywood Game Night” guest list, but a slew of SNL alumni are, including Martin Short, Amy Poehler and Fred Armisen. Minnie Driver, Jason Alexander and “Friends” co-stars Lisa Kudrow and Matthew Perry also are among those slated to play. Check out a preview below:

 

Hester is founding director of the award-winning, multi-media NYCity News Service at the City University of New York Graduate School of Journalism. He is the former City Editor of the New York Daily News, where he started as a reporter in 1992. Follow him on Twitter.



Photo Credit: Peter Kramer/NBC]]>
<![CDATA["Revolution" Finale Charges Up the Cast]]> Tue, 13 Aug 2013 13:35:32 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/213*120/revolution_nbc_P1.jpg

The “Revolution” will be televised – but only one more episode until the fall.

The freshman season finale of NBC’s hit series about life after a near-apocalyptic power outage airs June 3, and the rebels ready for a climactic assault on the Tower in hopes of ending the Blackout – with potentially catastrophic consequences they haven’t anticipated. Writer/producer David Rambo and the cast reflect on where their characters have ended up over the course of the season, their need-to-know when it comes to the show’s well-kept secrets and their personal feelings about technology dependence.

Elizabeth Mitchell:
There's definitely a quest at the end for season two, but it's not so much what we've been questing for in season one.

Billy Burke: They set it up so that when we do find out what actually transpired that you're more interested in other stuff by then. If it were just going to be a show about the power going away, then it wouldn't have been very interesting. Really, once you do take that power away, and that way of life away, the show just becomes about, ‘Don't die, and take care of and fight for what you love.’ And that's really what the show's about, so the power's sort of secondary to that…Miles starts to reveal some things about himself that he would never have even admitted to having, and he starts to realize that there's more to care about then himself. I mean, he's just a selfish bastard, but he starts to realize that these annoying, f**king people that he's been hanging around with for so long, he actually does start to care about them.

On the bigger picture of the show, and what they knew ahead of time about the many mysteries and secrets the show revealed at crucial junctures:

David Rambo: I can tell you we didn't know any of it. I don't even think [series creator] Eric Kripke knew. He's one of the great poker players of plot. He does not show all of his cards, what he's thinking of, until he hears what everybody else is thinking, cause if there's a better idea, he's going to run with it. We came in with some big ideas, about ‘Hey we could try this or we try that,’ but it was not mapped out.

Burke: We all deal with it – we'll get scripts and something will be said or some action will take place, and we will be like ‘What? Why?’ And we'll be on the phone with Kripke – and for me, a lot of it was like, ‘How is this going to be redeemable?’ And he'll say a couple things, and I'll go, ‘All right.’ And we just kind of go on blind faith.

Mitchell:
I ask a lot of questions to begin with, and because I'm a dork and a geek and I love my work so much, I write up something and say ‘Does that make sense? Is that true? Did that happen? Is that possible?’ And they usually let me know ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ or ‘Possibly’ or ‘Kind of along those lines’ or that sort of thing. They didn't feel like I needed to know things, but I did. So, yes, I armed myself, and I think that my five-page ‘Is this true?’ was helpful. I had a couple conversations with Eric and he's been really good about it. He knows I like to kind of know.

Zak Orth: The show is so big and it's so ambitious in its reach that the information is all being crammed into a funnel and made into a show. There's not a lot of lead time for these things. Where that might appear frustrating or strange to deal with has actually sort of become a strength. Your character wouldn't know – why should you? You have to trust them that whatever is coming down the pipe for you is not going to create any cognitive dissonance and you'll be able to do it.

Daniella Alonso:
The producers will get back to and answer and explain, but for example I had thought that Nora knew about Miles’ past with Rachel and I just decided to ask Eric one day and he was like ‘NO.’ ‘But what about all those looks?’ ‘No. That was something else.’ ‘Good to know!’



On how they handle the notion of tech-dependence in their own lives:

Burke: In the initial stages making the show we talked about it a lot. And the reality is you never really know what you would do, but you start to realize how much you do rely on it. It kind of gives one pause in that it's a bit disgusting, what we've now become in 2013. We are so reliant on power and technology for everything. It does make you think about, ‘Okay – If that was all gone, what do I really care about?’ Recorded music – that's the one thing I would miss the most. I can do without a television or a telephone, I think. As long as I surrounded myself with the people that I cared about, the communication thing would be all right with me. But, yeah, recorded music, that would suck not having.

Mitchell:
I take away electronics from my kids all the time, but I always have. Because I don't love it. I understand that it's prevalent, and it's everywhere, but I like us to look each other in the eye. But once that genie's out of the bottle, it's almost too late. That's all they want to do, right? But, yeah, I think about personal interaction. I spent my childhood outside. My mom, we'd come home, and she'd be like, ‘Out, out, out.’ And you'd be like, ‘Okay, sure.’

Alonso: I’m so not tech-addicted at all. Actually, just a few years ago I looked down and I saw my computer and my remotes and my cell phone and my iPod and all this stuff, and I was like ‘I just can’t…’ So I got rid of everything. Got rid of my cell phone for two years. I was like ‘I don’t want this to control me.’ It was just overwhelming. It was crazy, but I’m stubborn so I was like ‘I’m gonna do this!’ I tried it, but it didn’t totally work.

Rambo: We've talked about what we would do in that circumstance. They all want to come to my house because I have a nice, big wine cellar and lots of candles.



Photo Credit: Nino Munoz/NBC]]>
<![CDATA[Catching Up With The Stars of "Grimm"]]> Mon, 30 Sep 2013 12:02:51 -0700 http://media.nbcbayarea.com/images/180*120/grimmweb.jpg Silas Werr Mitchell and David Giuntoli stars of "Grimm" give us an inside scoop on what to expect this season. Grimm returns Oct 25. Watch Fridays 9/8c on NBC.‎]]>