A's Bob Melvin Wins Manager of the Year

Award handed out Tuesday night on the MLB Network.

View Comments (


    Getty Images
    Bob Melvin received quite an honor from the Baseball Writers' Assoc.

    A's manager Bob Melvin was awarded the American League Manager of the Year award Tuesday night courtesy of the Baseball Writers' Association.

    During his first year in Oakland, Melvin lead a group of low paid rookies to an American League West title. He found a way to get his team to the top after being 13 games back at the end of June.

    "He does a great job of mixing everyone together and making everyone feel like they're always going to be successful," A's coach Chip Hale told MLB.com. "I think he's gotten the most out of players who, in the past, haven't performed that well. He knows guys' personalities, knows when it's a good time to get them in, get them out and give them some rest."

    Melvin also won the award in 2007 when he was the manager of the Arizona Diamondbacks.

    Raw Video: Bruce Bochy on Big Game One Win

    [BAY] Raw Video: Bruce Bochy on Big Game One Win
    Bruce Bochy could not be more proud of his players.

    The MLB Network is airing the best in baseball awards all week. Last night Mike Trout and Bryce Harper won Rookie of the Year honors. The Cy Young and Most Valuable Player winners are still on deck.

    If the Manager of the Year Award was a Bay Bridge series, then the A's got a win Tuesday night and the Giants did not.

    Giants manager Bruce Bochy did not win Manager of the Year for the National League. That award went to Davey Johnson of the Washington Nationals.

    Here are the finalists for all of this week's awards:

    American League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award

    • OF Yoenis Cespedes, Athletics
    • RHP Yu Darvish, Rangers
    • OF Mike Trout, Angels - winner

    National League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award 

    • 3B Todd Frazier, Reds
    • OF Bryce Harper, Nationals - winner
    • LHP Wade Miley, D-backs

    AL Manager of the Year Award 

    • Bob Melvin, Athletics
    • Buck Showalter, Orioles
    • Robin Ventura, White Sox

    AL Manager of the Year Award

    • Bob Melvin, Athletics- winner
    • Buck Showalter, Orioles
    • Robin Ventura, White Sox

    NL Manager of the Year Award 

    • Dusty Baker, Reds
    • Bruce Bochy, Giants
    • Davey Johnson, Nationals- winner

    AL Cy Young Award

    • LHP David Price, Rays
    • RHP Justin Verlander, Tigers
    • RHP Jered Weaver, Angels

    NL Cy Young Award

    • RHP R.A. Dickey, Mets
    • LHP Gio Gonzalez, Nationals
    • LHP Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers

    AL Most Valuable Player Award

    • Adrian Beltre, Rangers
    • Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
    • Robinson Cano, Yankees
    • Josh Hamilton, Rangers
    • Mike Trout, Angels  

    NL Most Valuable Player Award 

    • Ryan Braun, Brewers
    • Chase Headley, Padres
    • Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
    • Yadier Molina, Cardinals
    • Buster Posey, Giants