21st Century Solutions - Eligibility | NBC Bay Area

Eligibility Requirements

  • The organization must be a tax-exempt 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Fiscally sponsored organizations are not eligible.
  • The 501(c)(3) non-profit organization must have been in existence for more than three years and have an annual operating budget of more than $250,000 (defined by the organization's most recent 990).
  • The specific program/project being submitted by the organization must have been in existence and in operation for no more than three years.
  • 21st Century Solutions supports high impact, innovative programs that are creating change in our local communities by solving existing problems or emerging social issues in new ways. Projects that do not demonstrate an innovative approach will not qualify.
  • 21st Century Solutions will accept one entry per Tax ID number, per year. If your organization shares a Tax ID number, please coordinate internally, as only one application will be accepted for consideration.
  • Previous 21st Century Solutions winning organizations are eligible to re-apply for program funding after three years.

  • Program proposals must fall within one of the primary categories below:

    Civic Engagement

    Builds strong local communities by using media and technology to connect and empower citizens.


    Provides opportunities to improve educational outcomes and 21st century skills through technology.*


    Promotes environmental awareness and action in local communities.

    Jobs and Economic Empowerment

    Supports or creates economic opportunity in the community through innovative, meaningful programs.

    Media Arts

    Utilizes media (Television, Film, Digital) to create social change in communities.


    Utilizes or creates technology to connect, educate and advance communities.

    Not Eligible to apply:

  • Labor Organizations, Causes or Programs
  • Political Organizations, Causes or Programs
  • Religious Organizations, Causes or Programs
  • Schools and Educational Institutions*

  • *Unable to fund schools and their affiliated fundraising entities and foundations (including elementary, secondary and universities). Fiscally sponsored schools are not eligible.

    The organization must be physically located in and serve one of the 10 NBCU Owned Television Markets as defined below:

    NBC Bay Area

    Terrestrial geographic viewing area in the counties of Alameda, Contra Costa, Lake, Marin, Mendocino, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano and Sonoma in the state of California.

    NBC 5 Chicago

    Terrestrial geographic viewing area in the counties of Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Jasper, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Lake, LaPorte, LaSalle, McHenry, Newton, Porter and Will in the states of Illinois and Indiana

    NBC Connecticut

    Terrestrial geographic viewing area in the state of Connecticut.

    NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth

    Terrestrial geographic viewing area in the counties of Anderson, Bosque, Collin, Comanche, Cooke, Dallas, Delta, Denton, Earth, Ellis, Fannin, Freestone, Hamilton, Henderson, Hill, Hood, Hopkins, Hunt, Jack, Johnson, Kaufman, Lamar, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rains, Red River, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant, Van Zandt and Wise in the state of Texas.

    NBC4 Southern California

    Terrestrial geographic viewing area in the counties of Esmeralda, Inyo, Kern-East, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside-West, San Bernardino and Ventura in the state of California.

    NBC 4 New York

    Terrestrial geographic viewing area in the counties of Bergen, Bronx, Dutchess, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Kings, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Nassau, New York, Ocean, Orange, Passaic, Pike, Putnam, Queens, Richmond, Rockland, Somerset, Suffolk, Sullivan, Sussex, Ulster, Union, Warren and Westchester in the states of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut.

    NBC10 Philadelphia

    Terrestrial geographic viewing area in the counties of Atlantic, Berks, Bucks, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Carbon, Cecil, Chester, Cumberland, Delaware, Gloucester, Hunterdon, Kent, Lancaster, Lehigh, Mercer, Monmouth, Monroe Montgomery, New Castle, Northampton, Philadelphia and Salem Schuylkill, Sussex, Warren in the states of Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Delaware.

    NBC 7 San Diego

    Terrestrial geographic viewing area in the county of San Diego in the state of California.

    NBC 6 South Florida

    Terrestrial geographic viewing area in the counties of Broward, Miami-Dade and Monroe in the state of Florida.

    NBC4 Washington

    Terrestrial geographic viewing area in the counties of Alexandria City, Allegany, Arlington, Berkeley, Calvert, Charles, Clarke, Culpeper, Fairfax, Falls Church, Fauquier, Frederick, Fulton, Grant, Hampshire, Hardy, Jefferson, King George, Loudoun, Manassas Park, Manassas Park City, Mineral, Montgomery, Morgan, Page, Prince George’s, Prince William, Rappahannock, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, St. Mary’s, Stafford, Warren, Washington and Westmoreland in the states of Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, and Pennsylvania, as well as the District of Columbia.

    PLEASE NOTE: Applications that do not meet these Eligibility Requirements will not be considered. Incomplete applications and those containing information that has been misrepresented will not be considered.