Bruce Bochy Just Misses Manager of the Year - NBC Bay Area
The Cove
Deep coverage of the Giants

Bruce Bochy Just Misses Manager of the Year

Award handed out Tuesday night on the MLB Network.



    Giants manager Bruce Bochy did not win Manager of the Year for the National League.

    The award went to Davey Johnson of the Washington Nationals. It is the second time Johnson won the award. He also took it home in 1997 with the Orioles.

    The MLB Network is airing the Baseball Writers' Association of America's choices of the best baseball had to offer in 2012 on four consecutive nights at 6 p.m. ET. The news that Bochy just missed the award (he made it to the final three). The announcement came out just after 3 p.m. California time.

    Ballots were submitted at the end of the regular season, so Bochy's post-season prowess did not count.

    Raw Video: Bruce Bochy on Big Game One Win

    [BAY] Raw Video: Bruce Bochy on Big Game One Win
    Bruce Bochy could not be more proud of his players.
    (Published Wednesday, Oct. 24, 2012)

    Oakland A's manager Bob Melvin is also up for the award on the American League side. He is up against the Orioles' Buck Showalter and Robin Ventura of the White Sox.

    Last night Mike Trout and Bryce Harper won Rookie of the Year honors.

     To run down the rest of the week: Cy Young Awards are on Wednesday and the Most Valuable Player Awards are on Thursday. Buster Posey is still a favorite to take home that award.

    Romo, Posey and Cain Speak at the Giants Celebration

    [BAY] Romo, Posey and Cain Speak at the Giants Celebration
    Matt Cain, Buster Posey and Sergio Romo address the fans at the Giants Celebration in downtown San Francisco on Oct 31, 2012.
    (Published Thursday, Nov. 1, 2012)

    Here are the finalists for all of this week's awards:

    AL Manager of the Year Award

    • Bob Melvin, Athletics
    • Buck Showalter, Orioles
    • Robin Ventura, White Sox

    NL Manager of the Year Award 

    • Dusty Baker, Reds
    • Bruce Bochy, Giants
    • Davey Johnson, Nationals

    AL Cy Young Award

    • LHP David Price, Rays
    • RHP Justin Verlander, Tigers
    • RHP Jered Weaver, Angels

    NL Cy Young Award

    • RHP R.A. Dickey, Mets
    • LHP Gio Gonzalez, Nationals
    • LHP Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers

    AL Most Valuable Player Award

    • Adrian Beltre, Rangers
    • Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
    • Robinson Cano, Yankees
    • Josh Hamilton, Rangers
    • Mike Trout, Angels  

    NL Most Valuable Player Award 

    • Ryan Braun, Brewers
    • Chase Headley, Padres
    • Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
    • Yadier Molina, Cardinals
    • Buster Posey, Giants