Pharrell, Shakira, Blake Shelton and Lady Gaga Set for iHeartRadio Awards - NBC Bay Area

Pharrell, Shakira, Blake Shelton and Lady Gaga Set for iHeartRadio Awards



    Pharrell, Shakira, Blake Shelton and Lady Gaga Set for iHeartRadio Awards
    Getty Images
    Pharrell performs live at The Riverstage on March 12, 2014 in Brisbane, Australia.

    Pharrell, Drake, Shakira, Kendrick Lamar, Pitbull, Thirty Seconds to Mars and Blake Shelton are among the artists set to perform at the first iHeartRadio Music Awards.

    Other A-listers scheduled to make an appearance include Lady Gaga, Lorde, Katy Perry and Coldplay's Chris Martin. The inaugural music special is scheduled for May 1 and will air live on NBC (8-11 p.m. ET/PT) from the Shrine Auditorium.

    Producers of the show have taken a different approach to staging the ceremony. In addition to live performances, the iHeartRadio Awards will also feature storytelling and artists playing not only the Shrine Auditorium, but also the stages of some of Los Angeles’ most iconic venues from The Roxy to the Hotel Café.

    According to a press release, the event will highlight music's top stars "taking over Los Angeles" and telling viewers their "L.A. story -- what brought them to and through the City of Angels and how it helped make their careers."

    Contenders for artist of the year are Rihanna, Maroon 5, Justin Timberlake, Imagine Dragons and Macklemore & Ryan Lewis.

    Category finalists for the iHeartRadio Music Awards were announced on March 26 with round two voting at continuing through April 25. Music fans have already used hashtags to cast nearly 50 million votes across Facebook and Twitter.

    Listeners can tune into their local Clear Channel radio stations for a chance to win their way into the iHeartRadio Music Awards.

    Check out the full list of categories and nominees below:

    Artist of the Year:
    Imagine Dragons
    Justin Timberlake
    Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
    Maroon 5

    Song of the Year:
    “Hold On We’re Going Home” – Drake ft. Majid Jordan
    “Mirrors” – Justin Timberlake
    “Radioactive” – Imagine Dragons
    “Stay” – Rihanna ft. Mikky Ekko
    “The Monster” – Eminem ft. Rihanna

    Best Collaboration: (Most voted on category with more than 3.9 million votes cast to date)
    “Holy Grail” – JAY Z ft. Justin Timberlake
    “Stay” – Rihanna ft. Mikky Ekko
    “Suit & Tie” – Justin Timberlake ft. JAY Z
    “The Monster” – Eminem ft. Rihanna
    “Timber” – Pitbull ft. Kesha

    Best New Artist:
    Florida Georgia Line
    Icona Pop
    Imagine Dragons
    Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

    Country Song of the Year:
    “Boys ‘Round Here” – Blake Shelton
    “Highway Don’t Care” – Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift
    “It Goes Like This” – Thomas Rhett
    “Mine Would Be You” – Blake Shelton
    “That’s My Kind of Night” – Luke Bryan

    Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year:
    “Blurred Lines” – Robin Thicke ft. T.I. & Pharrell
    “Hold On We’re Going Home” – Drake ft. Majid Jordan
    “Holy Grail” – JAY Z ft. Justin Timberlake
    “Pour It Up” – Rihanna
    “Started From The Bottom” – Drake

    EDM Song of the Year:

    “Get Lucky” – Daft Punk ft. Pharrell
    “Stay The Night” – Zedd ft. Hayley Williams
    “Summertime Sadness” – Lana Del Rey ft. Cedric Gervais
    “Sweet Nothing” – Calvin Harris ft. Florence Welch
    “Wake Me Up” – Avicii

    Alternative Rock Song of the Year:
    “Demons” – Imagine Dragons
    “Do I Wanna Know?” – Arctic Monkeys
    “Pompeii” – Bastille
    “Royals” – Lorde
    “Safe And Sound” – Capital Cities

    Best Lyrics:

    “Wake Me Up” – Avicii (Vocals by Aloe Blacc)
    “I Love It (ft. Charli XCX)” – Icona Pop
    “Say Something” – A Great Big World
    “Same Love” – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
    “Wrecking Ball” – Miley Cyrus

    Best Fan Army:
    Arianators – Ariana Grande
    Little Monsters – Lady Gaga
    Lovatics – Demi Lovato
    Mahomies – Austin Mahone
    Rihanna Navy – Rihanna
    Swifties – Taylor Swift