Cupertino, Sunnyvale Schools Receive Honors - NBC Bay Area

Cupertino, Sunnyvale Schools Receive Honors

Schools among 31 in Santa Clara County to receive honor.



    The Dos and Don'ts of Good Sleep
    Getty Images

    Six schools from the Cupertino Union School District and two from Sunnyvale School District are being recognized by the state Department of Education for educational excellence.

    Eaton, Sedgwick, Eisenhower, Meyerholz, Regnart and Stevens Creek elementary schools from Cupertino Union received the honor. Sunnyvale schools included Cumberland and Ellis Elementary.

    The Mercury News reports, the schools were among 31 Santa Clara County elementary schools named as California Distinguished Schools for 2012. Schools apply for the honor, and must meet several criteria to be considered eligible, including federal and state standards for academic performace.

    Once the schools are considered eligible, they submit a written application, with a description of their signature educational practices.

    Schools which receive the rank of Distinguished School are invited by the state to share their educational practices with other schools, and serve as mentors to educators who want to improve their classrooms.