Bay Area Native First Woman to Win Directing Oscar

Kathryn Bigelow won the best-director Academy Award for her Iraq War thriller "The Hurt Locker."
The San Carlos native is the first woman in the 82-year history of the Oscars to earn Hollywood's top prize for filmmakers.  She called the win, "A moment of a lifetime," in her acceptance speech.  She also dedicated her award to the men and women fighting in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Bigelow beat her ex-husband James Cameron, the best-director winner for 1997's "Titanic" who was nominated this time for his sci-fi spectacle "Avatar." Bigelow and Cameron were married from 1989-91.

"The Hurt Locker" also won best picture.  That meant Bigelow was barely off stage when she was called back to take hold of the final award of the night.

Bigelow grew up in the peninsula city of San Carlos. She also went to college at the San Francisco Art Institute.

As for her ex-husband, who was seated right behind her in the audience: James Cameron joined in the standing ovation, clapping vigorously and saying, "Yes, yes" after she won.  The Associated Press photo at the top of this article was taken at some point during Oscar night, but it was not clear if it was taken before or after Bigelow won.

The acting prizes went to Sandra Bullock as best actress for "The Blind Side"; Jeff Bridges as best actor for "Crazy Heart"; Mo'Nique as supporting actress for "Precious"; and Christoph Waltz as supporting actor for "Inglourious Basterds."

Here's the complete list:

  • -- Motion Picture: "The Hurt Locker."
  • -- Actor: Jeff Bridges, "Crazy Heart."
  • -- Actress: Sandra Bullock, "The Blind Side."
  • -- Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz, "Inglourious Basterds."
  • -- Supporting Actress: Mo'Nique, "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire."
  • -- Director: Kathryn Bigelow, "The Hurt Locker."
  • -- Foreign Film: "El Secreto de Sus Ojos," Argentina.
  • -- Adapted Screenplay: Geoffrey Fletcher, "Precious: Based on the Novel `Push' by Sapphire."
  • -- Original Screenplay: Mark Boal, "The Hurt Locker."
  • -- Animated Feature Film: "Up."
  • -- Art Direction: "Avatar."
  • -- Cinematography: "Avatar."
  • -- Sound Mixing: "The Hurt Locker."
  • -- Sound Editing: "The Hurt Locker."
  • -- Original Score: "Up," Michael Giacchino.
  • -- Original Song: "The Weary Kind (Theme From Crazy Heart)" from "Crazy Heart," Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett.
  • -- Costume: "The Young Victoria."
  • -- Documentary Feature: "The Cove."
  • -- Documentary (short subject): "Music by Prudence."
  • -- Film Editing: "The Hurt Locker."
  • -- Makeup: "Star Trek."
  • -- Animated Short Film: "Logorama."
  • -- Live Action Short Film: "The New Tenants."
  • -- Visual Effects: "Avatar."
Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us