Writers Guild Awards: “Her” and “Captain Phillips” Screenplay Winners

"Her" and "Captain Phillips" walked away with the top honors at the Writers Guild Awards on Saturday, Feb. 1.

Spike Jonze accepted the award for Best Original Screenplay for "Her" and beat out "American Hustle," "Blue Jasmine," "Dallas Buyers Club" and "Nebraska."

Billy Ray took home the top prize for Best Adapted Screenplay for "Captain Phillips." "August: Osage County," "Before Midnight," "Lone Survivor" and "The Wolf of Wall Street" were also nominated.

The WGA's are a strong indicator of what might play out in the screenplay categories at the Oscars next month.

NEWS: Directors Guild Awards: Ben Affleck presents "Gravity's" Alfonso Cuaron with top honor

In the television categories, "Breaking Bad" won Best Drama Series, while "Veep" was named Best Comedy Series.

Check out the full list of all the winners!


ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY: "Her," Written by Spike Jonze; Warner Bros.

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY: "Captain Phillips," Screenplay by Billy Ray; Based on the book "A Captain's Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea" by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty; Columbia Pictures

DOCUMENTARY SCREENPLAY: "Stories We Tell," Written by Sarah Polley; Roadside Attractions

PHOTOS: Golden Globe winners


DRAMA SERIES: "Breaking Bad," Written by Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett; AMC

COMEDY SERIES: "Veep," Written by Simon Blackwell, Roger Drew, Sean Gray, Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin, Georgia Pritchett, David Quantick, Tony Roche, Will Smith; HBO

NEW SERIES: "House of Cards," Written by Kate Barnow, Rick Cleveland, Sam Forman, Gina Gionfriddo, Keith Huff, Sarah Treem, Beau Willimon; Netflix

EPISODIC DRAMA: "Confessions" ("Breaking Bad"), Written by Gennifer Hutchison; AMC

EPISODIC COMEDY: "Hogcock!" ("30 Rock"), Written by Jack Burditt & Robert Carlock; NBC

LONG FORM - ADAPTED: "Muhammad Ali's Greatest Fight," Written by Shawn Slovo, Based on the book by Howard Bingham and Max Wallace; HBO

SHORT FORM NEW MEDIA - ORIGINAL: "Episode 4: The Collected Sylvia" ("Sylvia Plath: Girl Detective"), Written by Mike Simses; sylviaplathgirldetective.com

ANIMATION: "A Test Before Trying" ("The Simpsons"), Written by Joel H. Cohen; Fox

COMEDY / VARIETY (INCLUDING TALK) - SERIES: "The Colbert Report," Writers: Stephen Colbert, Tom Purcell, Michael Brumm, Nate Charny, Rich Dahm, Paul Dinello, Eric Drysdale, Rob Dubbin, Glenn Eichler, Gabe Gronli, Dan Guterman, Barry Julien, Jay Katsir, Frank Lesser, Opus Moreschi, Bobby Mort, Meredith Scardino, Max Werner; Comedy Central

COMEDY / VARIETY - MUSIC, AWARDS, TRIBUTES - SPECIALS: "Blake Shelton's Not So Family Christmas," Head Writers: Jay Martel, Ian Roberts; Writers: Alex Rubens, Charlie Sanders; NBC

PHOTOS: Critics' Choice Awards winners

QUIZ AND AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION: "Jeopardy!," Written by John Duarte, Harry Friedman, Mark Gaberman, Debbie Griffin, Michele Loud, Robert McClenaghan, Jim Rhine, Steve D. Tamerius, Billy Wisse; ABC

DAYTIME DRAMA: "Days of Our Lives," Written by Lorraine Broderick, David Cherrill, Carolyn Culliton, Richard Culliton, Rick Draughon, Christopher Dunn, Janet Iacobuzio, David A. Levinson, Ryan Quan, Dave Ryan, Melissa Salmons, Christopher J. Whitesell; NBC

CHILDREN'S - EPISODIC &SPECIALS: "influANTces" ("A.N.T. Farm"), Written by Vincent Brown; Disney Channel

DOCUMENTARY - CURRENT EVENTS: "Egypt in Crisis" ("Frontline"), Written by Marcela Gaviria & Martin Smith; PBS

DOCUMENTARY - OTHER THAN CURRENT EVENTS: "The Choice 2012" ("Frontline"), Written by Michael Kirk; PBS and "Silicon Valley" (American Experience), Telescript by Randall MacLowry and Michelle Ferrari; Story by Randall MacLowry; PBS

NEWS - REGULARLY SCHEDULED, BULLETIN, OR BREAKING REPORT: "Tragedy at Newtown" Special Edition ("ABC World News with Diane Sawyer"), Written by Lisa Ferri and Matt Negrin; ABC

NEWS - ANALYSIS, FEATURE, OR COMMENTARY: "Lethal Medicine" ("60 Minutes"), Written by Michael Rey, Oriana Zill de Granados, Michael Radutzky; CBS

PHOTOS: SAG Award winners


DOCUMENTARY: "2012 Year in Review," Written by Gail Lee; CBS Radio News

NEWS - REGULARLY SCHEDULED OR BREAKING REPORT: "Afternoon Drive," Written by Bill Spadaro; CBS Radio/1010 WINS

NEWS - ANALYSIS, FEATURE OR COMMENTARY: "Remembering C. Everett Koop," Written by Scott Saloway; CBS Radio News


ON-AIR PROMOTION (TELEVISION, NEW MEDIA OR RADIO): "'The Crazy Ones' - Building a Better Comedy," Written by Erial Tompkins; CBS

TELEVISION GRAPHIC ART AND ANIMATION: CBS News Animations: "Brain Injury," "Pills," "Bionic Leg," "Midland Parade," "Concordia Salvage;" Animation by David Rosen; CBS News

(*Editor Note: There were no nominees in Long Form - Original, Short Form New Media - Adapted, or Children's - Long Form or Special awards categories this year.) ;

VIDEOGAME NOMINEES: "The Last of Us," Written by Neil Druckmann; Sony Computer Entertainment

PHOTOS: Notable Oscar nominees

Copyright E! Online
Contact Us