Raiders Score 7 Hall of Fame Nominees - NBC Bay Area


Raiders Score 7 Hall of Fame Nominees



    Your Highway 1 Bucket List
    Getty Images
    LOS ANGELES - 1985: Jim Plunkett #16 of the Los Angeles Raiders scrambles out of the pocket against the New York Giants at the Los Angeles Coliseum in Los Angeles, California. The Giants defeated the Raiders 14-9. (Photo by Mike Powell/Getty Images)

    Raider Nation would really appreciate if someone changed the subject from Sunday's 38-13 loss to the Tennessee Titans, and someone has.

    The Pro Football Hall of Fameannounced its nominees for the 2011 induction class. Seven Oakland Raiders were included on the complete list of nominees.

    Two-time Super Bowl winning quarterback Jim Plunkett makes the list again, as does his former Raiders coach Tom Flores. Also eligible for the 2011 class are punter Ray Guy, receiver Tim Brown, tight end Todd Christensen, offensive lineman Steve Wisniewski, and cornerback Lester Hayes.

    Notable non-Raiders making the list on their first year of eligibility include Deoin Sanders, Jerome Bettis, and Marshall Faulk.

    Tim Brown was a finalist on the 2010 Hall of Fame ballot, but did not make the final cut.

    Joe Kukura is a freelance writer who somehow feels "more old" hearing that Jerome Bettis and Deion Sanders are Hall of Fame-eligible.