Tour of California Gets Leipheimer - NBC Bay Area

Tour of California Gets Leipheimer



    How the Right Mattress Can Ease Back Pain
    Getty Images
    Levi Leipheimer headlines Tour of California field

    Three-time champion Levi Leipheimer will lead Team RadioShack in the sixth annual Tour of California.

    Leipheimer won the nearly 800-mile race from 2007-09.

     Race sponsor AEG announced the preliminary start list Wednesday.

    The eight-stage road race begins Sunday in South Lake Tahoe, Calif., and ends May 22 in Thousand Oaks, Calif.  It makes a stop in San Jose.

    Defending champion Michael Rogers of Australia won't ride this year because of a virus that caused him to miss training time.

    Americans David Zabriskie and Christian Vandevelde will lead Team Garmin-Cervelo. American George Hinicapie and 20-year-old rising star Taylor Phinney will ride for BMC Racing Team. Andy
     Schleck of Luxembourg will lead Leopard Trek, one of 18 teams in the field.