A's Third Baseman Matt Chapman Named Wilson Defensive Player of the Year

The awards keep rolling in for the Oakland A's.

The latest honor belongs to third baseman Matt Chapman, who was named the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year for all positions in Major League Baseball.

Chapman, 25, led MLB with 29 defensive runs saved and topped third basemen with a 10.9 ultimate zone rating, .853 zone rating, and 331 assists. He was also tied for first in the American League with 61 out of zone plays, making highlight-reel catches and throws just about every game.

Chapman is the first A's player to win the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year Award, which was established in 2012. It recognizes the top defensive player at each position and the top overall defensive player, as well as the best defensive team. Chapman won for third base and overall.

The award comes just days after Chapman and first baseman Matt Olson each won their first Gold Glove. On Monday, Billy Beane was named MLB Executive of the Year and Bob Melvin was announced as a finalist for AL Manager of the Year. 

Here is the full list of winners:

C: Mike Zuzino, Mariners
1B: Freddie Freeman, Braves
2B: DJ LeMahieu, Rockies
3B: Matt Chapman, A's
SS: Andrelton Simmons, Angels
LF: Alex Gordon, Royals
CF: Kevin Kiermaier, Rays
RF: Mookie Betts, Red Sox
P: Zack Greinke, Diamondbacks

Best Overall Defensive Player: Matt Chapman, A's
Defensive Team of the Year: Arizona Diamondbacks

Copyright CSNBY - CSN BAY
Contact Us