Auburn’s Cam Newton Named AP Player of the Year

Getty Images

It's good to be Cam Newton.

The Auburn quarterback, who has already locked up several of college football's top individual honors - including the Heisman Trophy and Davey O'Brien awards - is adding another piece of hardware to his collection, the AP Player of the Year award, reports CNNSI.

Newton, just under a year removed from junior college, guided his Auburn Tigers to an undefeated season, an SEC championship and a spot in the national title game on the strength of a record-breaking season. The signal called became the first player in SEC history to pass for more than 2,000 yards and rush for 1,000 or more yards in the same season. He threw 28 touchdowns, ran for another 20 and caught one for good measure.

He received 51 of the 60 votes from the members of the AP football poll panel. Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore picked up three votes, Stanford quarterbacn and Heisman runner-up Andrew Luck got two and four ballots were unreturned.

Suggested Reading: CNNSI, Fanhouse, College Football Talk

Contact Us