NBA Says Andre Iguodala Did Not Foul Damian Lillard in Closing Seconds

Programming note: Watch the pregame edition of Warriors Outsiders on Saturday afternoon at 4:30, streaming live on the MyTeams app.

The film has been reviewed and the results are in.

Andre Iguodala did not foul Damian Lillard in the closing seconds of the Warriors' Game 2 win over the Blazers in the Westeren Conference finals, according to the NBA's Last Two Minute Report.

The explanation states:

"Iguodala (GSW) makes marginal contact with Lillard (POR) on the perimeter before cleanly stripping the ball."

Lillard thought he was fouled.

"I know it's a tough position for the referees to be in to make a call at that point in the game," Dame said to reporters after the game. "Tried to get a little bit of space the first time. He grabbed my arm, and I lost the ball a little bit. I regained it, and I was going to shoot it again. He got his hand on the ball.

"For me, as the offensive player, I felt like it was contact. There was a lot of contact. But obviously, the ref is not going to decide the game or jump in at that point. You know, so ... good defensive play."

If you're new to this space, let us remind you about a story on Iguodala from June 2018 from Marcus Thompson of The Athletic:

He said last season a referee came up to him out of the blue and apologized. The referee said he watched film on Iguodala and found about four calls when he whistled Iguodala for a foul.

But the film showed Iguodala got all ball. The ref was a convert. He believed in Iguodala's magic.

"He said, ‘I went back and looked at them. None of them was fouls,'" Iguodala said. "I was like, ‘I know!' Every time I see him now, he is laughing. He knows I don't be fouling."

[RELATEDIguodala's steal on Lillard was specialty versus specialty]

If you aren't a convert yet, then we can't help you.

Follow @DrewShiller on Twitter and Instagram

Copyright CSNBY - CSN BAY
Contact Us