Bruins defenseman Zdeno Chara will not receive any further punishment for his cheap shot on Sharks wing Evander Kane on Tuesday night.
No hearing for Chara, according to league spokesperson— Pierre LeBrun (@PierreVLeBrun) February 27, 2019
Zdeno Chara will not receive any supplementary discipline for his hit of Evander Kane last night.— Kevin Kurz (@KKurzNHL) February 27, 2019
Let's check in on Kane to see how he feels about the news. Hint: he's not happy.
pic.twitter.com/sR8JtsIGWD— Evander Kane (@evanderkane_9) February 27, 2019
With 16:43 left in the Sharks' 4-1 loss to the Bruins, Chara elbowed Kane directly in the head. Quickly, a brawl ensued between the two teams.
#SJSharks might be losing the game, but they're not gonna lose the fights. pic.twitter.com/L25zvjV3PJ— Sharks on NBCS (@NBCSSharks) February 27, 2019
Chara's hit to the head resulted in no penalty for the defenseman, yet Kane was ejected for an instigator penalty.
[RELATED: Erik Karlsson's health becoming increasingly concerning for Sharks]
This was the second time in eight days that a Sharks loss to the Bruins was sparked by controversy from the referees. They weren't happy about it last time, and we're sure to hear about this, too.