VIDEO: NBC Bay Area Photogs’ Award-Winning Efforts


The NBC Bay Area photography team has some hardware to go along with their hard work and expert efforts from 2010.

Jeremy Carroll won the headliner-of-a-prize, the Ken McLaughlin Photographer of the Year Award. Carroll is now caretaker of the actual trophy until next year -- a golden Bell 16mm film camera.

"We have had very good results in this competition over the years, especially bringing the photographer of the year to KNTV, " chief photographer Mark Villareal said in a release. "Last year it drifted from us, but Jeremy brought it back home."

Alex Bozovic, Garvin Thomas and Villareal all had first-place finishes, as well.

Bozovic for Video Mini-Doc/Series Photography ("Reverend Trial); Thomas for Video Sports Photography; and Villareal for Video Features Photography.

"I'm already looking forward to next year ... . We have very talented eyes on our team," Villareal said. "Their creative edge is what helps set our photography apart from our competition."

The first-place videos are clickable here.

Click here to view Alex Bozovic's 'Christopher the Cat.'

* Click here to view 'Corn Palace by Garvin Thomas.

* Click here to view Jeremy Carroll's 'Saving Sophie.'

* Click here to view Carroll's 'Board Sports.'

Here's the complete list of the 2010 winners:

The Ken McLaughlin News Video Photographer of the Year
Jeremy Carroll, KNTV

Video Spot News Photography
1st place: Alan Blaich, KOVR, "Mehserle Verdict Protests"
2nd place: Craig Cannon, freelance, "Rescue"
3rd place: William Erickson, KTVU, "Day of Action"
Award of Excellence: Jacob Jimenez, KTVU, "Mavericks' Wave"

Video Spot News - Video Journalist
1st place: Thomas O'Hair, KCRA, "Plane Crash"
2nd place: Garvin Thomas, KNTV, "Felton Grove Flooding"
3rd place: Da Lin, KRON, "Warehouse Fire"

Video General News Photography
1st place: Jacob Jimenez, KTVU, "Graffiti Artist"
2nd place: Garvin Thomas, KNTV, "Corn Palace"
3rd place: Steve Gonzales, KCRA, "War Games"
Award of Excellence: Alex Bozovic, KNTV, "Gilroy Garlic Festival"

Video General News - Video Journalist
1st place: Michael Domalaog, KCRA, "Cross Country Couple"
2nd place: Da Lin, KRON, "A Giant Celebration"
3rd place: Stanley Roberts, KRON, "Clipper Flaw"
Award of Excellence: Jeff Pierce, KRON, "Richmond Plunge Reopens"

Video Features Photography
1st place: Mark Villarreal, KNTV, "Farm Workers"
2nd place: Alex Bozovic, KNTV, "Christopher the Cat"
3rd place: Dean Smith, KGO, "Darva's Delight"
Award of Excellence: Steve Gonzales, KCRA, "Hot Rod Heroine"

Video Sports Photography
1st place: Garvin Thomas, KNTV, "Never Too Late To Do The Right Thing"
2nd place: Jacob Jimenez, KTVU, "College Dreams"
3rd place: Thomas O'Hair, KCRA, "Helmet Rehab Repair"

Video Mini-Doc/Series Photography
1st place: Alex Bozovic, KNTV, "Reverend Trial"

Fred Sinfield Live Video Award Photography
1st place: William Erickson, KTVU, "San Bruno Explosion"
2nd place: Alan Filippi, KTVU, "Oil Solutions"
3rd place: Mark Villarreal, KNTV, "Giants Parade"

Video Judges
Joe Champ, Colorado State University Broadcast Journalism Department
Greg Luft, Colorado State University Broadcast Journalism Department
Frank Porter, WPEC, West Palm Beach, Florida
Tom Special, WPTV, West Palm Beach, Florida
Steve Weiss, Colorado State University Broadcast Journalism Department

Contact Us