SF Supervisors Jockey to be Peskin Replacement

New board president vote could show acrimony among members

San Francisco will officially introduce four new supervisors and choose a new board president Thursday.

Several of the board members have quietly been jockeying for the position. There has been some acrimony between board members that could affect the vote.

Some observers have said the decision could divide loyalties on the board.

Newly elected supervisors Eric Mar, District 1, David Chiu, District 3, David Campos, District 9, and John Avalos, District 11, will be given the oath of office by the presiding judge of the San Francisco Superior Court.

Returning supervisors Carmen Chu, Ross Mirkarimi and Sean Elsbernd will also be sworn in to new four-year terms.

Following the swearing-in, the supervisors will nominate and then vote to elect a president of the board to succeed Aaron Peskin, who just completed his second and final term.

The board president must be approved by at least six of the 11 supervisors and serves a two-year term.

The president's duties include appointing supervisors to various committees, determining which committees legislation is sent to, and presiding over meetings of the full board.

Thursday's meeting begins at noon inside the Board of Supervisors chamber at City Hall.

Copyright BAYCN - Bay City News
Contact Us