United States

Steve Kerr Wins 2015-16 NBA Coach of the Year

Programming note: Watch Steve Kerr's Coach of the Year press conference today at 1:30pm on CSN Bay Area, and streaming live right here.

Steve Kerr was named the 2015-16 NBA Coach of the Year on Tuesday, the NBA announced.

Under Kerr's guidance, the Warriors broke the single-season record for wins and earned the No. 1 overall seed in the playoffs for a second straight season.

He received 64 first-place votes and 381 total points from a panel of 130 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Portland's Terry Stotts finished second with 37 first-place votes and 335 total points.

Gregg Popovich of the San Antonio Spurs was third with 10 first-place votes and 166 total points. Coaches were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.

Kerr, in his second season with the franchise, becomes the third Warriors coach to win the award and the first since Don Nelson in 1991-92.

The award comes after the defending champions posted a 73-9 record, supplanting the 1995-96 Chicago Bulls for the best mark in NBA history.

Kerr, however, did not coach the first 43 games, as he took a leave of absence on the third day of training camp and did not return until Jan. 22. Though sometimes involved in game preparation, Kerr was away from the bench for nearly four months, during which time the Warriors went 39-4 under interim coach Luke Walton.

Kerr decided to temporarily step away due to complications and residual pain after he underwent two back surgeries over the summer. The Warriors upon his return went 34-5.

The Warriors are 140-24 in two seasons under Kerr, who last season finished second in the voting.

Contact Us