California’s Paid Sick Leave Law to Take Effect Wednesday

530685403
Getty Images

Beginning this week, Californians will no longer have to worry about losing work and money when they are sick.

Effective Wednesday, all full and part-time employees who have worked at least 30 days will qualify for three paid sick leave days per year as long as they have been employed for 90 days.

The minimum 90 day employment period has been set to act as a “probationary period” to ensure paid sick days are going to longer term employees.

Although most employees are covered by this new law, there are some exceptions. Those who do not qualify are providers of publicly-funded In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS), those covered by collective bargaining agreements and those employed by an air carrier as a flight deck or cabin crew member, if their employer already offers equivalent sick leave compensation.

For more information on the new law, click here.
 

Contact Us