NBC Bay Area Wins Three SPJ Awards

NBC Bay Area took home three national Sigma Delta Chi Awards for excellence in journalism from the Society of Professional Journalists.

This is the most any television news station has won at one time since 1996, according to NBC Bay Area research of SPJ archives.

Judges chose from 1,800 entries spanning print, radio, TV and online.

The entire staff was recognized for "Breaking News Coverage" of the tragic crash of Asiana Flight 214, as well as the investigative and enterprise stories in the weeks and months following the July 6 accident at San Francisco International Airport.   

Jenna Susko, Julie Putnam, Jeremy Carroll and Matt Goldberg brought home their second national award in two years for "Public Service in Television."  Their investigative reports exposed Santa Clara County District Attorney Jeff Rosen and his altering of employee timesheets in order to circumvent mandatory budget cuts.

Garvin Thomas won for “Feature Reporting” with his Bay Area Proud franchise, where Thomas does all his own shooting, writing and editing. The stories Thomas entered were "Bride with Terminal Cancer Gets Amazing Wedding Gift Story," and "Students Give Choir Teacher Emotional Musical Tribute Story." 

"The Asiana Airlines Flight 214 crash was one of the most tragic and important stories impacting the Bay Area in more than a decade," said Jonathan Mitchell, Vice President of News, NBC Bay Area. “I could not be more proud of our team’s professional, sensitive and tireless coverage on behalf of our viewers. We are both honored and grateful for this recognition.”

Owned by NBC Universal, NBC Bay Area/KNTV is the Bay Area’s investigative station located in the heart of Silicon Valley.  The station is committed to providing continuous, in-depth journalism with unique personalities.

The Sigma Delta Chi Awards date back to 1932, when the Society of Professional Journalists honored six individuals for their contributions to journalism. The current program began in 1939 as the Distinguished Service Awards.

NBC Bay Area will be formally presented with the awards at a reception which will take place at the National Press Club on June 20 in Washington, D.C.

For a full list of 2013 winners, click here.

Contact Us