Buster Posey Wins MVP

Final awards of the year have been handed out each night on the MLB Network.

The Major League Baseball Network has been handing out the final awards of the 2012 baseball season all week, with the grand finale tonight: the Most Valuable Player.

The National League winner was none other than Giants catcher Buster Posey.

"I couldn't be more honored to have my name alongside the previous winners," Posey said after learning he had won. Get more reaction from Buster here.

The Giants top brass were quick to respond to the award with the following statements:

“On behalf of the entire Giants organization and our fans, we congratulate Buster Posey on this
tremendous achievement. He joins Willie Mays and Willie McCovey as the only Giants to win Rookie of the Year and an MVP award in franchise history. Buster’s work ethic, leadership skills and extraordinary talent represent all that is great about our game and what it means to be a San Francisco Giant. This is a proud day for Buster and his family, for the Giants and for our fans everywhere,” Larry Baer said in a statement.

"This is a great achievement and I couldn’t be happier for Buster. He is establishing himself as one of the premier athletes in baseball today. His leadership and ability to produce offensively and play solid defense behind the plate makes him one of the most exciting and valuable players in either league. I also want to congratulate our entire baseball organization, including Buster’s teammates, our scouting and player development staff, our coaches and training staff for the role they all played in helping Buster earnthis special honor," Brian Sabean, said in a statement.

“I’m thrilled that Buster won this very prestigious award. To go through what he’s gone through over the past year and then do what he did in 2012, not many people can do that. He’s so valuable with the way he catches, handles the staff and hits cleanup while handling all that’s thrown at him. He not only has a huge impact on our lineup but a bigger impact with the way that he leads by example and we are extremely lucky that he’s a part of our organization. Buster is an exceptionally talented baseball player who has earned this high honor through his hard work, dedication and competitive spirit,” Bruce Bochy said in a statement.

Posey was the odds on favorite and an apparent easy pick for the members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Posey received 27 first-place votes and 422 points in the balloting, ahead Ryan Braun of the Brewers, Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina, Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen and Padres third baseman Chase Headley.

The writers submitted their ballots at the end of the regular season, so Posey's post-season heroics wasn't taken into account.

Detroits Miguel Cabrera won the MVP of the AL after having a Triple Crown season for Detroit. Rangers outfielder Josh Hamilton, Angels rookie outfielder Steve Trout, Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano and Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre were the other finalists.

Buster led the Giants to its National League West title batting .336 with 24 home runs and 103 RBIs.

Here are the awards from the week:

American League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award

  • OF Yoenis Cespedes, Athletics
  • RHP Yu Darvish, Rangers
  • OF Mike Trout, Angels - winner

National League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award

  • 3B Todd Frazier, Reds
  • OF Bryce Harper, Nationals - winner
  • LHP Wade Miley, D-backs

AL Manager of the Year Award

  • Bob Melvin, Athletics - winner
  • Buck Showalter, Orioles
  • Robin Ventura, White Sox

NL Manager of the Year Award 

  • Dusty Baker, Reds
  • Bruce Bochy, Giants
  • Davey Johnson, Nationals - winner

AL Cy Young Award

  • LHP David Price, Rays - winner
  • RHP Justin Verlander, Tigers
  • RHP Jered Weaver, Angels

NL Cy Young Award

  • RHP R.A. Dickey, Mets - winner
  • LHP Gio Gonzalez, Nationals
  • LHP Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers

AL Most Valuable Player Award (awarded tonight)

  • Adrian Beltre, Rangers
  • Miguel Cabrera, Tigers - winner
  • Robinson Cano, Yankees
  • Josh Hamilton, Rangers
  • Mike Trout, Angels  

NL Most Valuable Player Award 

  • Ryan Braun, Brewers
  • Chase Headley, Padres
  • Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
  • Yadier Molina, Cardinals
  • Buster Posey, Giants -winner
Contact Us