NBA Says Kevin Durant Got Away With Double-dribble in Final Seconds

Programming note: Watch the pregame edition of Warriors Outsiders Tuesday night at 6 p.m. PT, streaming live on the MyTeams app.

The Warriors beat the Heat on Sunday night, but the outcome easily could have been different.

On Monday afternoon, the NBA issued its "Last Two Minute Report" and there was one main takeaway.

With just over 10 seconds remaining in the game, the referees should have determined that Kevin Durant committed a turnover:

"Combining video evidence from multiple angles confirms that the ball does not make contact with Winslow's (MIA) foot/shin and a discontinued dribble should have been called on Durant (GSW)."

There was no whistle and Durant ended up missing a 3-pointer. But DeMarcus Cousins got the offensive rebound and made the go-ahead free throws after he was fouled by Justise Winslow.

Dion Waiters missed a potential game-winning 3-pointer in the closing seconds and the Warriors escaped with a 120-118 win.

"It's a double-dribble," Heat coach Erik Spoelstra said minutes after the game ended. "Everybody can see it. Those are tough calls to make, but everybody saw it. It's right there in front of everybody. That should be a violation. And you can't miss those calls."

[RELATEDThe simple reason as to how and why Kevin Durant invested in Postmates]

Just another example of the Warriors being the luckiest team of all-time (sarcasm font).

Drew Shiller is the co-host of Warriors Outsiders. Follow him on Twitter @DrewShiller

Copyright CSNBY - CSN BAY
Contact Us