Raiders Snap Count: Bruce Irvin's Workload Reaches New Low Vs. Colts

OAKLAND – Bruce Irvin is used to playing most every Raiders defensive snap. The veteran edge rusher played nearly 1,000 in 2016, and was close to 900 last season as a staple in the base defense and sub packages.

His role has decreased under coordinator Paul Guenther despite being the roster's only established edge rusher and the team leader with three sacks.

He played just 24 defensive snaps in a 42-28 loss to Indianapolis on Sunday, and didn't have a statistic or a quarterback pressure to his name.

That's highly unusual for him, and a sign that he isn't fitting in as well as expected with this scheme. It must also be a disappointment, considering he was expected to lead the defensive charge and a young line after Khalil Mack was traded.

It hasn't worked out, and the Raiders have the NFL's worst pass rush by far. According to analytics site Pro Football Focus, the Raiders rank last with 56 total pressures. The Detroit Lions rank 31st and have 100.

Offensively, the Raiders choose Brandon LaFell to take Amari Cooper's spot in the starting lineup. The veteran played 46 of 50 offensive snaps, with three catches for 39 yards and a touchdown.

Martavis Bryant's role didn't increase one bit. He only played seven offensive snaps, leaving the Raiders a loser in the draft day trade where Bryant was acquired from Pittsburgh for a third-round pick.

Doug Martin stepped in to the feature back's role with Marshawn Lynch on injured reserve, though Jalen Richard maintainWhen ed his prominent role as third-down back.


Total offensive snaps: 50
Quarterback – Derek Carr 50
Running back – Doug Martin 28, Jalen Richard 22, Keith Smith 11, DeAndre Washington 2
Wide receiver – Brandon LaFell 46, Jordy Nelson 45, Seth Roberts 30, Martavis Bryant 7, Dwayne Harris 1
Tight end – Jared Cook 31, Lee Smith 15, Derek Carrier 12
Offensive line – Brandon Parker 50, Jon Feliciano 50, Gabe Jackson 52, Rodney Hudson 50, Kolton Miller 50


Total defensive snaps: 78
Defensive line – Johnathan Hankins 57, Frostee Rucker 52, Maurice Hurst 46, PJ Hall 45, Arden Key 37, Clinton McDonald 32, Bruce Irvin 24, Fadol Brown 23
Linebacker – Tahir Whitehead 78, Marquel Lee 43, Kyle Wilber 20, Nick Morrow 20, Jason Cabinda 17
Defensive back – Daryl Worley 78, Gareon Conley 76, Marcus Gilchrist 70, Erik Harris 51, Leon Hall 37, Nick Nelson 21

Special teams

Harris 22, Lee, Wilber, Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie 22, Carrier 20, K. Smith 16, Morrow 16, Harris, L. Smith 14, Gilchrist 11, Joseph 9, Daniel Carlson 9, Washington 8, Worley 7, Whitehead 6, Hankins 6, Key 6, Irvin 6, Nelson 6, Johnny Townsend 6, Trent Sieg 6, Jackson 4, Feliciano 4, Miller 4, Parker 4, Denver Kirkland 4, TJ Clemmings 3, Ian Silberman 1

Copyright CSNBY - CSN BAY
Contact Us