A's Bob Melvin Wins Manager of the Year

Award handed out Tuesday night on the MLB Network.

By Lori Preuitt
|  Tuesday, Nov 13, 2012  |  Updated 4:30 PM PDT
View Comments (
Romo, Posey and Cain Speak at the Giants Celebration

Getty Images

Bob Melvin received quite an honor from the Baseball Writers' Assoc.

Photos and Videos

Raw Video: Bruce Bochy on Big Game One Win

Bruce Bochy could not be more proud of his players.

Romo, Posey and Cain Speak at the Giants Celebration

Matt Cain, Buster Posey and Sergio Romo address the fans at the Giants Celebration in downtown San Francisco on Oct 31, 2012.
More Photos and Videos

A's manager Bob Melvin was awarded the American League Manager of the Year award Tuesday night courtesy of the Baseball Writers' Association.

During his first year in Oakland, Melvin lead a group of low paid rookies to an American League West title. He found a way to get his team to the top after being 13 games back at the end of June.

"He does a great job of mixing everyone together and making everyone feel like they're always going to be successful," A's coach Chip Hale told MLB.com. "I think he's gotten the most out of players who, in the past, haven't performed that well. He knows guys' personalities, knows when it's a good time to get them in, get them out and give them some rest."

Melvin also won the award in 2007 when he was the manager of the Arizona Diamondbacks.

The MLB Network is airing the best in baseball awards all week. Last night Mike Trout and Bryce Harper won Rookie of the Year honors. The Cy Young and Most Valuable Player winners are still on deck.

If the Manager of the Year Award was a Bay Bridge series, then the A's got a win Tuesday night and the Giants did not.

Giants manager Bruce Bochy did not win Manager of the Year for the National League. That award went to Davey Johnson of the Washington Nationals.

Here are the finalists for all of this week's awards:

American League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award

  • OF Yoenis Cespedes, Athletics
  • RHP Yu Darvish, Rangers
  • OF Mike Trout, Angels - winner

National League Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award 

  • 3B Todd Frazier, Reds
  • OF Bryce Harper, Nationals - winner
  • LHP Wade Miley, D-backs

AL Manager of the Year Award 

  • Bob Melvin, Athletics
  • Buck Showalter, Orioles
  • Robin Ventura, White Sox

AL Manager of the Year Award

  • Bob Melvin, Athletics- winner
  • Buck Showalter, Orioles
  • Robin Ventura, White Sox

NL Manager of the Year Award 

  • Dusty Baker, Reds
  • Bruce Bochy, Giants
  • Davey Johnson, Nationals- winner

AL Cy Young Award

  • LHP David Price, Rays
  • RHP Justin Verlander, Tigers
  • RHP Jered Weaver, Angels

NL Cy Young Award

  • RHP R.A. Dickey, Mets
  • LHP Gio Gonzalez, Nationals
  • LHP Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers

AL Most Valuable Player Award

  • Adrian Beltre, Rangers
  • Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
  • Robinson Cano, Yankees
  • Josh Hamilton, Rangers
  • Mike Trout, Angels  

NL Most Valuable Player Award 

  • Ryan Braun, Brewers
  • Chase Headley, Padres
  • Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
  • Yadier Molina, Cardinals
  • Buster Posey, Giants

Get the latest headlines sent to your inbox!
View Comments (
Leave Comments
Bay Area Proud
Bay Area Proud is NBC Bay... Read more
Follow Us
Sign up to receive news and updates that matter to you.
Send Us Your Story Tips
Check Out