Brendan Weber

Draymond: ‘I Look Forward to Apologizing' to Adams

Following the Warriors' Game 3 loss to the Thunder on Sunday night, Draymond Green defended himself and reiterated he did not intentionally kick Steven Adams below the belt.

He doubled down in his latest diary entry for 'The Undefeated.'

"I would tell [Adams], ‘My bad. I didn’t try to do something like that.’ Honestly, I wanted to go up to him during the game and say that. But I know what type of competitor he is and I think I know how he would react. If he would have reacted the way I thought he would have reacted, I know what that would have done to me, as well. I just kind of erred on the side of not saying anything and was hopeful I may catch him after the game.

"I didn’t intentionally kick him down there. Whether he believes me or not, which I don’t think he will and wouldn’t in the moment, which is why I didn’t say anything. I would definitely apologize and I look forward to apologizing to him, if I see him."

After reviewing the play, the referees assessed Draymond a Flagrant 1. The NBA is conducting an investigation and it's possible Draymond is suspended for Game 4.

"I’m kind of upset about this, ‘Will he get suspended or will he not?’ It’s just frustrating," Draymond wrote for The Undefeated. "Obviously, I hit [Adams] there in Game 2. But can anyone possibly say that was intentional. People might look at that and say, ‘He did it then — he tried to do [it again].’ Would I be that obvious, if I’m trying to do it?’

"I know how important I am to my team. Being that I know that, I’m not going to be that obvious and try to kick a man down there. That’s not something I would even do. Hitting someone down there … you can ruin a lot more. Why do that?

"And I am all for fans cheering their guys on, so it doesn’t bother me that they were saying, ‘Throw him out.’. I didn’t think there was a chance that I’d get thrown out. It would have completely shocked me. I immediately thought that it should probably be rescinded.

"If a guy takes the ball over to the left and gets fouled trying to go up left, your body is hit left and the right side goes up — physics. You hit something on one side the other side goes up. I learned that in physics. I didn’t know it happened. That’s how intentional it was. I didn’t even know I did it."

Contact Us