Raiders Snap Count: James Chips Into Heeney's Workload

Ben Heeney played every defensive snap in the Raiders regular season opener, standard procedure for someone playing middle linebacker in this scheme. On Sunday, that percentage was less than 100.

Rookie Cory James played the final nine defensive snaps in Heeney's place during Sunday's 35-28 loss to the Atlanta Falcons. Head coach Jack Del Rio declined to state whether Heeney was benched for performance – he did so with cornerback Sean Smith last week – and instead absorbed blame for another poor defensive effort.

James is a sixth-round selection from Colorado State, and took some first-unit reps during the preseason. The Raiders are razor thin at interior linebacker, with Malcolm Smith manning one spot.

Keith McGill was the strong safety for a second straight game, though he struggled covering Atlanta's tight ends. Nate Allen was only a special teams player, as was first-round rookie Karl Joseph.

As expected, Smith played every defensive snap after getting benched last week.

Here's a look at the snap count for every Raider:

75 – OT Austin Howard, C Rodney Hudson, QB Derek Carr
74 – OG Gabe Jackson, OG Kelechi Osemele, OT Donald Penn
69 – WR Amari Cooper
57 – WR Michael Crabtree
51 – WR Seth Roberts
47 – TE Clive Walford
40 – TE Lee Smith
36 – RB Latavius Murray
26 – FB Jamize Olawale
16 – RB Jalen Richard
15 – RB DeAndre Washington
14 – WR Andre Holmes
4 – WR Johnny Holton
1 – RB Taiwan Jones, OG Jon Feliciano, OG Vadal Alexander

64 – CB Sean Smith, LB Malcolm Smith, S Reggie Nelson
62 – S Keith McGill
61 – DE Khalil Mack
56 – LB Bruce Irvin
55 – CB David Amerson, LB Ben Heeney
52 – DL Jihad Ward
32 – DT Stacy McGee
31 – DT Justin Ellis
29 – DL Denico Autry
26 – CB DJ Hayden
19 – DT Dan Williams
15 – DT Darius Latham
9 – LB Shilique Calhoun, LB Cory James
1 – CB TJ Carrie

25 – Brynden Trawick, Daren Bates
19 – Nate Allen, Shilique Calhoun, Cory James, Andre Holmes, Jamize Olawale
18 – Taiwan Jones
12 – Clive Walford, Lee Smith
11 – Keith McGill
10 – Jon Condo, Sebastian Janikowski, Marquette King
9 – Jalen Richard
8 – DJ Hayden
6 – TJ Carrie, Darius Latahm, Dan Williams, Denico Autry, Stacy McGee, Khalil Mack, Bruce Irvin
5 – Jihad Ward, Jon Feliciano, Johnny Holton, Austin Howard, Gabe Jackson, Kelechi Osemele
1 – DeAndre Washington

NOTE: Snap counts taken from official game book

Copyright CSNBY - CSN BAY
Contact Us