Stephen Curry Becomes First Unanimous MVP in NBA History

The NBA made it official on Tuesday morning, as Steph Curry captured his second straight MVP award.

Curry, who led the Warriors to a come-from behind victory on Monday night by scoring an NBA-record 17 points in overtime, becomes the first unanimous MVP in NBA history.

Draymond Green finished in seventh place after capturing two second-place votes, six fourth-place votes and 19 fifth-place votes, for a total of 50 points.

Kawhi Leonard came in second with 634 points  54 second-place votes, 34 third-place votes, 26 fourth-place votes and eight fifth-place votes.

LeBron James placed third with 631 points — 40 second place-votes, 48 third-place votes, 34 fourth-place votes and nine fifth-place votes.

Russell Westbrook and Kevin Durant came in fourth and fifth place respectively.

In 2000, Shaquille O'Neal fell one vote shy of being the first ever unanimous selection.

The same thing happened to LeBron James in 2013.

Last year, Curry received 100 of the 130 first-place votes after averaging 23.8 points and 7.7 assists per game, while making a then-record 286 3-pointers.

This season, Curry averaged 30.1 points and 6.7 assists, and shattered his own record by making 402 treys.

The Warriors went 73-9, breaking the 1995-96 Bulls' record for most wins a single season in NBA history.

Curry joins Steve Nash and Magic Johnson as the only point guards with multiple MVPs.

For the complete voting results, click here.

View more videos from Curry's MVP ceremony at

Contact Us